Direct SIP

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by Techops, Feb 8, 2018.

Tags:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Techops

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2018
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Been reading about the setting "3CX Phone System can make or receive Direct SIP Calls". (Console > Settings > Network > FQDN > Settings for Direct SIP Calls)

    Does anyone enable this option?

    If so, why?

    Read the 3CX blog post about how to enable it but not sure what it's advantages/disadvantages would be.
     
  2. AH2

    AH2 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2017
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    4

    Hi, yes, and it's quite usefull, this enables Direct SIP Calls, so you can make a reaceive calls by using this format. SIPID@SERVERIP_DOMAIN .

    It's explained a bit better here.
    https://www.3cx.com/blog/voip-howto/direct-sip/

    Cheers
     
  3. Techops

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2018
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks. That's the post I read about.

    You note that it enables the format SIPID@SERVERIP_DOMAIN. What's the method if Direct SIP isn't enabled? I thought that Direct SIP would circumvent the 3CX server but the blog link doesn't seem to corroborate that.
     
  4. cobaltit

    cobaltit Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    112
    Direct SIP doesn't circumvent the 3CX Server, it circumvents the trunk. Think free calls a la Skype.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Techops

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2018
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh! That makes sense. Thanks much.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.