Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

Direct SIP

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by Techops, Feb 8, 2018.

Tags:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Techops

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2018
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Been reading about the setting "3CX Phone System can make or receive Direct SIP Calls". (Console > Settings > Network > FQDN > Settings for Direct SIP Calls)

    Does anyone enable this option?

    If so, why?

    Read the 3CX blog post about how to enable it but not sure what it's advantages/disadvantages would be.
     
  2. AH2

    AH2 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2017
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    5

    Hi, yes, and it's quite usefull, this enables Direct SIP Calls, so you can make a reaceive calls by using this format. SIPID@SERVERIP_DOMAIN .

    It's explained a bit better here.
    https://www.3cx.com/blog/voip-howto/direct-sip/

    Cheers
     
  3. Techops

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2018
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks. That's the post I read about.

    You note that it enables the format SIPID@SERVERIP_DOMAIN. What's the method if Direct SIP isn't enabled? I thought that Direct SIP would circumvent the 3CX server but the blog link doesn't seem to corroborate that.
     
  4. cobaltit

    cobaltit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,610
    Likes Received:
    243
    Direct SIP doesn't circumvent the 3CX Server, it circumvents the trunk. Think free calls a la Skype.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Techops

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2018
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh! That makes sense. Thanks much.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.