Solved Do I need to create a push firebase service?

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by gulib, Aug 11, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gulib

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi, with 15.5 in the following document
    https://www.3cx.com/docs/firebase-android-client/

    it says
    "3CX pre-configures Firebase for you using its own Google account. You only need to follow the below procedure if you wish to channel push messaging via your own Google account."

    and on my dashboard for push server it says "3cx server" in black.

    Honestly, its not clear to me if I need to create my own or not, and what the advantage of doing this would be.
    The black outline looks like its implying its Off.

    any clarification would be appreciated.
    thanks,
    gulib
     
  2. Saqqara

    Saqqara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    172
  3. YiannisH_3CX

    YiannisH_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    6,350
    Likes Received:
    450
    Please note that you can use the 3CX account firebase account. Even if you create your own account the outline will still be black.
     
  4. gulib

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
    I am as confused as before.
    Yes, I use android devices. Yes I prefer to use the 3CX firebase account.
    Now what do I do?
    thanks,
    gulib
     
  5. YiannisH_3CX

    YiannisH_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    6,350
    Likes Received:
    450
    The guide states that you can use the 3CX pre-configured account. You only need to follow the guide if you wish to create your own firebase project and use your own account for push. If you wish to use the 3CX account you do not need to do anything. Just send welcome emails to your Android clients and start using them.
     
  6. gulib

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
    excellent, thank you. I went ahead and created the push project on google. Now at the end of the instructions it says

    "Send a welcome email to all users to force a reprovisioning with the new Firebase details to the Clients. Settings will be updated upon the next client launch from each client. The 3CX client will be reprovisioned automatically and the new settings will be applied."

    Is sending the email enough or do the users need to import the attachment into their clients once again?

    thanks
    gulib
     
  7. YiannisH_3CX

    YiannisH_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    6,350
    Likes Received:
    450
    If you created a new project then you need to send a new welcome email to all Android users so they can reprovision their devices. The new config file included in the welcome email will contain the new project details. The users need to import the attachment and restart their clients
     
    gulib likes this.
  8. gulib

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
    Once all this is done, Is there an explicit way of testing that PUSH is working correctly?
    gulib
     
  9. YiannisH_3CX

    YiannisH_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    6,350
    Likes Received:
    450
    Yes of course. Once you finish the procedure open the client on an Android device and make sure it registers correctly. Once it does exit the client by either by hitting the exit button in the menu or by hitting the home button of the device so the client goes to background. Lock the device and try calling it from a different extension after a minute. If the phone rings, then push works.
     
    gulib likes this.
  10. Saqqara

    Saqqara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    172
    Make a call, and it should wake up the 3CX app

    Make sure 'Enable PUSH for smartphones' is ticked under 3CX client phone provisioning for each extension
     
    gulib likes this.
  11. gulib

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2

    Done and done. Works perfectly. thank you!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.