Domain versus Proxy

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by darryla, Oct 11, 2007.

  1. darryla

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm confused about the difference between a SIP proxy and the domain? I'm trying to setup X-Lite to work with 3CX. If I leave the proxy set to "target domain" it works.

    So what's the proxy do?
     
  2. LORD ORION

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    The proxy is resposible for setting up the call between end points.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Session_Initiation_Protocol

    :)
     
  3. darryla

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do I know if I need to set one up?

    What I mean is, I'm having problems. So what does the Proxy buy me?
     
  4. dyntech

    dyntech New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Your 3CX server is the proxy.
     
  5. Mirzab

    Mirzab Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    My X-Lite is setup the same way and never had to change. Care to explain what sort of problems you are experiencing? It probably has nothing to do with this setting. If the problems are related to external extension use include info on your 3CX setup and port forwarding currently in place please.
     

Share This Page