Solved Echo on calls from Webclient

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by techdummy, Mar 13, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. techdummy

    techdummy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    8
    Hi,

    I am using 3cx v 15.5 SP2.
    On one of the extensions, for incoming and outgoing calls that are made from 3cx webclient we are facing echo issue.
    When the calls are made from IP phone, there is no echo.
    The audio device connected to the extension having issue is a Jabra 410 speakers, but it works fine when the incoming call is from an IP phone.
    What could be the issue here?

    Thanks
     
  2. craigreilly

    craigreilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,978
    Likes Received:
    183
    It seems like its loopback audio - speaker feeding into the microphone. Is there any control panel for the USB Speaker that can be adjusted?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    techdummy likes this.
  3. techdummy

    techdummy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thank you for the reply @craigreilly
    I will have to check if there is any control panel.
    But this issue isn't there when the call is coming from an IP Phone.
    I tried calling from 2 of our IP Phones and there were no echo, but the moment call is made from the webclient the issue starts!
     
  4. craigreilly

    craigreilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,978
    Likes Received:
    183
    Perhaps I am not understanding the scenario properly. You say inbound outbound calls on this extension are showing signs of echo using Webclient (and presumably the Jabra speaker) where IP Phone calls are not.

    You state the issue isn't there when call is coming from an IP Phone. Perhaps both ends are using the Jabras when it does exist - and when 1 is Jabra and 1 is IP it does not exist.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. techdummy

    techdummy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    8
    Extension, say 5001 is the one that has echo! It has Jabra connected to it.
    For both incoming calls and outgoing calls to/from this number, there is echo, only when the other party is a windows webclient.
    If the call is made to or from an extension having IP phone, there is no echo!
    And I tested by calling to and from my extension(say 5002), which is connected to a headset with Mic, and the issue is still there.

    Scenario :

    IP Phone to Jabra - No Echo
    Jabra to IP Phone - No Echo
    Webclient(Headset with Mic) to Jabra - Echo
    Jabra to Webclient(Headset with Mic) - Echo
     
  6. techdummy

    techdummy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    8
    The issue comes when the call is from or to a windows webclient(using either headset with Mic or Jabra), when the call is from a IP phone there is no issue!
     
  7. techdummy

    techdummy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    8
    Correction - I meant Windows Client, and not Webclient!
     
  8. techdummy

    techdummy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    8
    Did anyone else face the same kind of issue?
    Echo when calls made from Windows client, and not when the calls are being made from IP Phone.
     
  9. YiannisH_3CX

    YiannisH_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    4,443
    Likes Received:
    282
    Hello @techdummy

    Is the PBX hosted or on premise? Are the phones local or remote?
    What happens if you call from a 3CX client for windows (with the headset) to an IP phone? Do you still get echo? Set the IP phone to speaker and try to replicate.

    Have you tried using a different headset on the client or the windows default mic and see if you can replicate that way? Does the PBX delivers the audio (PBX delivers audio is on or recordings)?

    Do you have a supported conference phone you can test this with as i am assuming you have manually registered the Jabra device to the PBX.
     
  10. jed

    jed New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    37
    Hi
    On your SoftPhone, go into Settings / Audio Options. Change Microphone Gain from 4 to 2.
    Hope this helps you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. techdummy

    techdummy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thank you @jed
    I changed the microphone gain to the lowest available and also moved the Jabra device away from all the other devices. It seems to have done the trick! :) There is no echo now.
     
    jed likes this.
  12. techdummy

    techdummy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    8
    PBX is on premise, the phone having issue is a remote one.
    There are no issues with any other calls or to any other extension that has Jabra or headset. The issue was with one particular extension.
    I had changed the gain level on softphone, and echo has stopped.
    Thank you for all the suggestions. :)
     
  13. craigreilly

    craigreilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,978
    Likes Received:
    183
    Sorry I missed this change. Makes a lot more sense now. :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    techdummy likes this.
  14. techdummy

    techdummy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thanks for all the help! :)
     
  15. YiannisH_3CX

    YiannisH_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    4,443
    Likes Received:
    282
    Glad to see the issue has been resolved :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.