"Echo" problems on calls, poor audio

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by zooeyhall, Mar 10, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zooeyhall

Hello everyone--I am hoping I can get some general troubleshooting insights on a problem we are having in one of our 3cx phone installations. I'm the IT person for my company, but am not dedicated exclusively to phone systems so I am by no means an expert in the more obscure aspects of phone problems--just to let you know.

Users at one of our locations are complaing of a prominent "echo" on certain calls. It doesn't seem to affect every call. The "echo" is noticed by both the person calling and also the person receiving the call. The "echo" is continuous during the length of the call. It only occurs on external calls.

This is a simple installation of 6 phones all connected via the internal LAN. There are no routers or anything between the phones. The phones are all Snom 300 phones. Calls are made via external analog PSTN lines, through a Patton 4114 gateway.

All phones are running the latest firmware.

We were using these phones at a previous location with 3cx. We moved this office to a new location, during which time I moved the phones. I also setup a new computer (dedicated) with the latest version of 3cx. I installed a new Patton gateway at the same time.

I know a lot of things can cause this issue, but I am hoping for some good general recommendations on troubleshooting this issue. I am looking at implementing 3cx at all of my company's locations, so this problem location is sort of a "test" that I am really want to work as well as possible.

Any advice appreciated. Please post if you need further info.

2. abc123

abc123 Active Member

Re: "Echo" problems on some calls