Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

Expire Time

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by haywardi, Feb 28, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. haywardi

Hi,

As you will have seen from my last post I'm new to using 3CX and so far I'm very impressed.

However, I now have a hopefully simple question about the use of the expire time.

To explain, I am converting away from an existing installation (hardware based IPPBX) and have an existing installation of IP phones.

They work really well when registered. However, at first they would drop off the PBX after 60 seconds. I then found a setting on the phones marked Expire time. I changed this to 3600 seconds (the maximum setting allowed) and they would stay connected for an hour and then they would drop off again. Checking the internet it sounds like this setting is the registration time. However, the phones don't seem to be re-registering.

Now my questions:

1. Is it the job of the device to re-register or the PBX to try and re-register?
    2. Is there a way of overriding this setting (within the PBX) as the phones are on the same lan so really speaking will never disconnect?

BTW, I have contacted the manufacturer, but so far they have been unresponsive.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Iain

2. leejor

leejor Well-Known Member

The registration default for 3CX is 30 minutes. The PBX will "suggest" the time to the device but not all devices respond. If you have a device that requires a manual setting then select 1800 seconds or less. If the device does not re-register in the allotted time, 3Cx will assume that it is no longer available to receive calls.

3. haywardi

Hi