External calls

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by philiph, Dec 19, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. philiph

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    I created outbound rule [​IMG]
    but when I try to call - nothing happening. What else can I do?
     
  2. YiannisH_3CX

    YiannisH_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    6,387
    Likes Received:
    455
    How about creating an outbound rule to test the trunk first. Create a new outbound rule select calls from extensions and choose the extension you are calling from. Select your route and click ok.
    does that work?
    Do inbound calls work?
     
  3. philiph

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried it, but nothing happening.
     
  4. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,855
    Likes Received:
    301
    Have a look at the 3CX Activity log right after a failed call. Post the log of the call here if you're not sure what it is telling you.
    Does you provider show as registered in 3CX? It may be the outbound rules, but it might also be something else, the log should show that.
     
  5. philiph

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, provider is shown as registered (green). Log here:
    [​IMG]
     
  6. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,855
    Likes Received:
    301
    That is not showing a lot. The Activity log should show everything (you can set how much information you want to see), from when the number is dialled (digits are received) to when the call is abandoned/fails.

    http://www.3cx.com/blog/docs/3cx-server-activity-log/
     
  7. philiph

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, where can I see it in v15?
     
  8. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,855
    Likes Received:
    301
  9. philiph

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don`t have this menu, but I found activity log:
    12/19/2016 12:13:09 PM - [CM503003]: Call(C:10): Call to <sip:88312155555@nn.ims.volga.rt.ru:5060> has failed; Cause: 408 Request Timeout/INVITE from local
    12/19/2016 12:03:13 PM - [CM306001]: Address of STUN server (stun2.3cx.com) could not be resolved!
     
    #9 philiph, Dec 19, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2016
  10. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,855
    Likes Received:
    301
    The second log may indicate a problem if you don't have a static public IP and use STUN. You may have to investigate that further.

    The first log confirms the call failed. You may need some additional information about what "timed out" and why.

    Are you able to receive incoming calls from this provider? Is there additional information (more of that log), about what IP timed out? Did the Invite get to the provider, or were they not able to send a response back for some reason?

    Have you run the 3CX Firewall Checker with success? In other words, are all required ports open (forwarded)?
     
  11. philiph

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I have dynamic IP, but what it changes?

    I didn't make incoming rules yet. Firewall Cheker with success.
     
  12. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,855
    Likes Received:
    301
    The use of a dynamic IP is discouraged, to say the least, from version 14 forward. Not to say that it won't work with some tweaking, however i can't speak with personal experience for version 15. You would have to have STUN working correctly for your set up. That may explain your problem, but, you haven't answered my question about being able to receive calls. It you can't receive calls they the public IP that your provider is attempting to reach you at, may be out of date.
     
  13. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,855
    Likes Received:
    301
    Sorry, i see that you haven't even attempted incoming calls...you should do that to see if there is an issue there as well.
     
  14. philiph

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I try to call inside, no matter, which IP-address I'm using, right? And this IP is statuc until router reboot, may be longer. I don't know can I accept incoming calls, but in the first, I want make outgoing call, can you help me, please?
     
  15. DARSFoG

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Have you verified that you have the right format for the Sip Trunk? I know with my provider I had to use 11 digits. So for a 7 digit outbound route I had to add 1555 in the Prepend area of the box.
     
  16. philiph

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I changed to 11 - no result:
    12/20/2016 11:17:52 AM - Call to T:Line:10000>>88312155555@[Dev:sip:+78312470058%40nn.ims.volga.rt.ru@82.208.118.241:5060;transport=TCP] from L:1.1[Extn:001] failed, cause: Cause: 408 Request Timeout/INVITE from local 12/20/2016 11:17:52 AM - [CM503003]: Call(C:1): Call to <sip:88312155555@82.208.118.241:5060> has failed; Cause: 408 Request Timeout/INVITE from local
     
  17. GiannosC_3CX

    GiannosC_3CX Guest

    Dear Philip,

    What registration method are you using with your provider IP-Base or Authentication-Base.
    Then create a basic inbound rule and try to call to your sip number through mobile or other number.

    Try the above and let us know if this works.
     
  18. philiph

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Authentication-Base. I can't call - error 408
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.