External extension/device

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by Mori, Nov 2, 2007.

  1. Mori

    Mori New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi.

    We have a bit of trouble to make registration of external devices(extensions) on to our 3cx.
    The manual did not supply so much info on that subject, so i requests help here.
    How on earth do we setup/config the 3cx, and the external ext. to make it register properly?
     
  2. Mori

    Mori New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok. Now i got the external ext. to register on my 3cx.

    However i can not call from my ext. to the external ext., but the other way it works...
     
  3. miraportuga

    miraportuga Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    0
    Make sure you're using Stun on External Phone/Softphone. Stun is the number 1 cause of problems with sound when external...

    Cheers
     
  4. Mori

    Mori New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Stun is ok.

    It just wont ring. Like the external ext wasnt there...
     
  5. Mirzab

    Mirzab Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just to clarify - same STUN on 3CX Server and external extension / softphone?
     
  6. Mori

    Mori New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes..

    Even tried to set both my own router and external computer to dmz to roule out any port frwrd, but still no..
    The ext registers on 3cx, but no sound, and i can not make call to external ext. inbound it rings, but no sound...
     
  7. Mirzab

    Mirzab Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    What does 3CX logs show? Usually gives a hint of where problem.

    I suspect still a port issue regardless of what the router setup looks like. I had to replace my router, Motorola to D-link, to fix issues on my end.

    Is this a recent problem and was working fine before or is this a new installation?
     
  8. Mori

    Mori New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just started to set ut external. on v.3.1. that i run. Never had a external before.

    i just changed my router to a d-link dir 635.
    External device connects trough dyndns, and by that it registern.

    The log for a call is:

    16:59:31.383 ServRegs::checkExpiration [CM113000] Registration for sip:8083@morinett.homeip.net has expired
    16:55:34.407 StratInOut::eek:nHangUp [CM104007] Call(1): Call from Ext.8080 to 8083 has been terminated by Ext.8080; cause: CANCEL; from IP:192.168.13.5
    16:55:19.928 CallConf::eek:nIncoming [CM103002] Call(1): Incoming call from 8080 (Ext.8080) to sip:8083@192.168.13.3

    When callint TO ext 8083 (the external) it does nothing, and i have to end call after 30-40 sec..
     
  9. Mori

    Mori New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Forgot to specify that the ports opened in router (when not DMZ) is 5060, 8000-9000 (internal range), 16300-16700, and STUN port...
     
  10. Mirzab

    Mirzab Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmmmm.... Did you check out http://www.3cx.com/forums/categorie...his-gets-a-sticky-1697/?highlight=port+sticky for
    Your ranges are different, did you change defaults in Server?
     
  11. Mori

    Mori New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes i have changed defaults, mostly to meet requirement from VoIP provider, but also to avoid conflict with other apps on our network.

    However is it not of great importanse since the spesifyed ranges also is congigured on the external device.

    As i said before, we have no other problems internal, or calls on VoIP lines with this specs.
    Only now regarding the external ext have we encountered problems.
     
  12. todd

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same problem Wneh I use IP phone or ATA as external ext but

    Same problem Wneh I use IP phone or ATA as external ext but soft phones are fine.
    I tested: Grandstream handyTone 488, BT200 BT101 GXP2000. all same.
    but I'm 100%sure is not port problem because soft phone are fine.

    My problem as:
    I got Grandtream GXP-2000 & BT 200 BT 101 IP phone and act as internal Extension all good. But when I use it as external Extensions, it’s not working: can make any phone calls from this phone. But incoming call looks like can not pick up, after I pick up the handset, the caller pone still keep ringing look this phone and no any voice.

    I have make sure the box extension is external, and bind to media server, under that "extension configuration". Also make sure I'm using stun.xten.com as Stun on the phone same stun server I’m using in 3CX. if I use soft phone for external extension all good. just when I use IP phone (3 brand, all same) with same problem.

    for the server, there is No firewall anymore, so,I think this is no port issues. I'm not sure why the phone can make cal l but can not receive calls.

    The Version of 3CX Phone System v3.1.2434.0 New edition.
    The Network:
    ADSL service from a ADSL2+ modem router. Statica IP
    The router Lan IP is 192.168.1.1
    The service of PBX IP is 192.168.1.2
    Port Forwarding: From router, I setup DMZ forward all port to 192.168.1.2
    There is NAT& Firewall on the router.
    In this setup, if I use X-Lite soft phone as external Extension, all working fine.
    Just Ip phones not working: can make call to other Extension but can not receive calls.

    8001 is soft phone 8012 is IP phone
     
  13. technicalpc

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Same problem Wneh I use IP phone or ATA as external ext

    Hello,
    Did you find what's causing this issue??
    I'm having the same problem with my grandstream gxp-2000. I also tried with a second nic card in the pc with a public ip for that card, with soft phone works good, but no with the gxp2000.
     
  14. todd

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    NO! still not working
     
  15. Mori

    Mori New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same here.
    Im managed to get the exteral device to work setting local sip domain, but this only worked with 3cx phone and not 3cx client.
    On the other hand seting up the local domain i fu*** up all other internal calls making hte whole system dysfunctional..:?

    Sooo... im back at square one. :roll:
     
  16. AldoLinares

    AldoLinares New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same problem here but with a Grandstream BT-102, i can make call from the external extension, but i get inbound calls to the BT as external, it rings but no sound at all.

    Any help?
     
  17. silentfun

    silentfun Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have GXP-2020 and ML220 phones as external phones and the run with 3CX Phone System Version3.1.2434.0.

    Extension is external (enabled)
    Bind to Media Server (enabled)
    Supports Re-Invite (enabled)
    Supports 'Replaces' header (enabled)
     
  18. AldoLinares

    AldoLinares New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same settings, the strange thing is that i can make calls, but if someone call from the pstn to 3cx to external extension only rings and when i hook off the phone it continues to ring, and in the other end it's transfer music like it never get to the bt102.
     

Share This Page