Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

External parties can't join conference calls in V12

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by petarl, Feb 26, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. petarl

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I'm having problem with conference calls in V12 - external parties can't join them because 3CX hangs up after they press #.

    Internal extensions can join conference calls without any problem.

    This is from log:

    26-feb-2014 17:00:17.916 L:18.2[Conf]: Terminating targets, reason: SIP ;cause=200 ;text="User hangup"
    26-feb-2014 17:00:17.916 Leg L:18.2[Conf] is terminated: Cause: BYE from 127.0.0.1:40300
    26-feb-2014 17:00:17.912 L:18.2[Conf] got Terminated Recv Req BYE from 127.0.0.1:40300 tid=e936eb00d163af11 Call-ID=OTY1MjRkMWE3ZDRiY2ExMzU5MDI5YWZmNWYyYzgxMzU.:
    BYE sip:0113306513@127.0.0.1:5060 SIP/2.0
    Via: SIP/2.0/UDP 127.0.0.1:40300;branch=z9hG4bK-d8754z-e936eb00d163af11-1---d8754z-;rport=40300
    Max-Forwards: 70
    Contact: <sip:700@127.0.0.1:40300;rinstance=09cd6742ab1ac9b8>
    To: "*81:011xxxxxxx"<sip:0113306513@127.0.0.1:5060;nf=e>;tag=20311847
    From: <sip:700@127.0.0.1:5060>;tag=f72d7854
    Call-ID: OTY1MjRkMWE3ZDRiY2ExMzU5MDI5YWZmNWYyYzgxMzU.
    CSeq: 2 BYE
    User-Agent: 3CX Conference Room
    Reason: SIP;description="User Hung Up"
    Content-Length: 0

    3CX detects that user hangs up, but that is not the case.

    I've even tried with restarting Windows server (2008 R2 on ESXi) but that didn't help.

    I also changed extension numbers, inbound routing and that didn't help either.

    Can anyone suggest any possible solution?

    This worked flawlessly in V11.

    Regards.
     
  2. petarl

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can anyone help with this?
     
  3. craigreilly

    craigreilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,552
    Likes Received:
    298
    I just tested this and it worked just fine...

    Scheduled a conference with a couple internal users.
    They each received a call at the appropriate time.
    Then I called using my mobile phone. I called the Conference DID we have assigned.
    Then it asked for the conference id, which I entered ^ digits) and hit pound.
    Then it asked to confirm I wanted this conference call. # for NO. * for YES.
    I hit *. Then it asked for my name and any key to continue.

    We are on v12 SP4, Windows 7 (3cx flavor of Webserver)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. coreybrett

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having the same exact issue with my v12 system.
     
  5. petarl

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    SP5 didn't help, either.

    3cx hangs up on external users when they select conference number.
     
  6. davidc@allpax.com

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having the same problem. Did you ever solve this?

    Thanks
     
  7. petarl

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not yet. I have yet to apply SP6 and to try again conference calls tomorrow. I'll report results here.
     
  8. petarl

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've updated 3cx to V12 SP6 and that didn't help either. Does anyone have any idea why this is happening?
     
  9. petarl

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've used WireShark to analyze this problem. 3CX sends BYE SIP request to Bero ISDN gateway after external party presses 'pound' character (#). Can anyone try to explain why is this happening?
     
  10. cdrichla

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    3CX Support had me change the MSADDRFC2833FORINBANDDTMF setting in custom parameters to 0. They think it's an in/out band RFC2833 issue from the PSTN. In my case it's a Sangoma PRI card. Changing this setting didn't help and I also upgraded to SP6 which didn't help either. I'm currently trying to capture the RTP stream to try to hear audibly what is going on with the DTMF signaling. According to the Sangoma logs so far, only one # is being sent. 3CX says that if 2 #s are sent, the second one is interpreted as disconnect request.
     
  11. factorypolaris

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for keeping this post alive. I am having the same issue on a V12 system.

    I think my issue may be in the firewall. After 2 days of testing, I was able to get it to work once this morning... Then without changing anything, it would not work again. It's very strange. Firewall logs are not reporting any blocked traffic for this service.

    Like you I am working right now to get this resolved. If I come up with anything, I will re-post.

    -Chris
     
  12. jpillow

    jpillow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its a simple case of "user error" (the reason for the quotes is the user probably is dialing the calls the same speed as normal but 3cx has a different reaction while trying to connect to the conference) The users are pushing pound twice...Tell the user to dial the conference call code and pound but do it really slowly. I'd be willing to bet if you look in the wireshark log you will see the pound key pushed miltple times. You will see this indicated by DTMF in the wireshark log. You have already pointed out via the server activity log the hangup is coming from the user... 3cx also answered the question according to Baronets post but since they most likely do not use the conference very often they wouldnt know to tell you to dial very slow when trying to connect to a conference. I hope this helps make a few test calls joining into a conference and post here what your results are....



    External parties can't join conference calls in V12

    Postby petarl » Wed Feb 26, 2014 10:05 am
    Hi,

    I'm having problem with conference calls in V12 - external parties can't join them because 3CX hangs up after they press #.

    Internal extensions can join conference calls without any problem.

    This is from log:

    26-feb-2014 17:00:17.916 L:18.2[Conf]: Terminating targets, reason: SIP ;cause=200 ;text="User hangup"
    26-feb-2014 17:00:17.916 Leg L:18.2[Conf] is terminated: Cause: BYE from 127.0.0.1:40300
    26-feb-2014 17:00:17.912 L:18.2[Conf] got Terminated Recv Req BYE from 127.0.0.1:40300 tid=e936eb00d163af11 Call-ID=OTY1MjRkMWE3ZDRiY2ExMzU5MDI5YWZmNWYyYzgxMzU.:
    BYE sip:0113306513@127.0.0.1:5060 SIP/2.0
    Via: SIP/2.0/UDP 127.0.0.1:40300;branch=z9hG4bK-d8754z-e936eb00d163af11-1---d8754z-;rport=40300
    Max-Forwards: 70
    Contact: <sip:700@127.0.0.1:40300;rinstance=09cd6742ab1ac9b8>
    To: "*81:011xxxxxxx"<sip:0113306513@127.0.0.1:5060;nf=e>;tag=20311847
    From: <sip:700@127.0.0.1:5060>;tag=f72d7854
    Call-ID: OTY1MjRkMWE3ZDRiY2ExMzU5MDI5YWZmNWYyYzgxMzU.
    CSeq: 2 BYE
    User-Agent: 3CX Conference Room
    Reason: SIP;description="User Hung Up"
    Content-Length: 0
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. factorypolaris

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    A dialing issue is not the case for me. I have tried every dialing method, slow, really slow, long pause, no pause, etc and still the call drops. If indeed it is a dialing issue, then the whole conference thing is 100% non usable as I would spend more time training people on how to dial in for a conference than actually having the conference itself. Especially when I can't get it to work myself as the network admin. (LOL)

    I am beginning to think there is some type of a bug. With multiple people reporting the same issue all with V12 and everything else working fine, I don't think there is a firewall issue. However, I have tried multiple configurations on the firewall with no luck either.

    From the deskphone, I can create a conference between two external callers with no issue. That works great. The only issue is that first menu when calling in to ext 700. It happens whether the inbound rule directs them to 700 OR they are transferred to 700 via a desk-phone.

    I sure hope someone can offer some additional insight to this. Thanks for reading and have a great day!

    -Chris
     
  14. jpillow

    jpillow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had client experiencing the exact same thing a few months back turns out they were pushing that button twice.... Post a log while attempting to connect to the conference bridge.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. Mitchellb

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi Guys, having the same issue on my side and I can assure you that I am NOT pressing # twice - even confirmed by looking at my mobile which shows 1 #. Any ideas? A client has an important international conference tomorrow and If i cant get this right, I'm going to be in a bit of trouble... :(
     
  16. intellegens

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you using any voice gateway? If so, what model?
    What is the make and model of your firewall - hopefully, it is not a Sonicwall
     
  17. Mitchellb

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm not using a Gateway - I have a Native SIP Trunk on the 3CX.
     
  18. intellegens

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is probably redundant but I always like to get it out of the way. Do all ports pass the firewall checker test?
     
  19. Mitchellb

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi there, thanks for your reply.

    The issue is inconsistent (but cuts off more times than not). If all ports were open/closed I am guessing it would either always present an issue, or not. In this case it is inconsistent. I am going to run a Wireshark trace and send over to the support team per their suggestion.

    thanks
     
  20. Ryan.Phytertek

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having the same issue with V12 sp 6
    We're definitely not pressing # twice...
    I'm hoping there is a fix for this soon... :(
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.