Faliover on debian 3CX + windows DNS

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by Damian Spiewak, Mar 23, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Damian Spiewak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    Has anyone get any idea how to setup failover between 3CX (15 SP5) installed on debian with DNS servers installed on Windows 2008/2012
     
  2. Charles_3CX

    Charles_3CX New Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    4
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #2 Charles_3CX, Mar 30, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2017
  3. Damian Spiewak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    Not so sure... There are no failover example scripts for linux installation
     
  4. npereira@cbnco.com

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    11
    correct, this is a bummer... 3CX comes out with Linux as a base platform for 3CX but fails to provide working scripts for the failover and specifically states in the blog post that failover is simpler to setup on the linux side...

    Isnt easier for me, as i dont know what the scripts need to be.

    BTW 3CX, Linux doesnt run Batch files.... If you promote failover on linux, then provide the script.
     
  5. npereira@cbnco.com

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    11
    so come to think of it, if this was "tested" by R&D and confirmed working on the Debian 3CX, then they should have working Linux Scripts. So why not provide them as examples? if they dont have example script, this would lead me to think that this failover was never tested on the Debian 3CX base system.
     
  6. tratz

    tratz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    15
    You would use nsupdate to update the a record if using windows dns servers. It would have to be non-secure dynmaic updates but it should work just fine.

    --Tracy
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.