Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

Fanvil X4 - Firmware problems

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by volkeregenberger, Dec 28, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. volkeregenberger

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    2
    I just bought new Fanvil X4 phones. Very nice phones.
    The now phones came with firmware 2.0.2.2830
    I hooked them up manually to 3CX v15 because provisioning did not work. Now the phone is showing up in the 3CX panel. Phone is working fine.

    But: 3CX panel says firmware is not supported. When I click on "+Firmware" it says version 2.0.2.2723 is needed.
    Usually i download the latest firmware from FANVIL and upgrade the phone manually or look into the provisioning folder from my 3CX installation to get a newer firmware that is compatible with 3CX (works for X3 and X5 phones).

    So i did on my X4 phone. Manually loaded firmware 2.0.2.2723. Now the phone shows up in 3CX panel as a X3 phone with MAC 00000000000. When i try to lookup infos on the color led screen, the phone says it is a X3 with MAC 0000000000. But the phone has a regular IP address on my network and a valid MAC address. Webaccess of the phone only shows a html error message. When I do a hard reset on the phone it stays with the X3 firmware.
    Is there a way to change the firmware again?

    I have a second new X4 phone connected with 3CX now - but 3CX panel still says firmware 2.0.2.2830 is not supported and i cannot provision the phone automatically.

    Anyone here has similar issues?

    best wishes,
    Volker Egenberger
     

    Attached Files:

    Raghed Idris likes this.
  2. Raghed Idris

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    i did not used fanvil yet i replied to check the solution cause i am willing to purchase ganvil, as they have most needed solutions and models
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. YiannisH_3CX

    YiannisH_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    7,783
    Likes Received:
    561
    Hello there,

    Please note that as long the firmware of the phone does not match the supported firmware of the management console the not supported message will be displayed. So try to get the phones to the supported firmware to avoid that.
    Also i believe the reason the MAC is 000000000 is because the phone is manually provisioned and not auto provisioned.
    Are these local extensions?
    when you factory reset the phone does it appear on the phones tab as new with bold letters? Is the MAC displayed there correctly?
     
  4. YiannisH_3CX

    YiannisH_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    7,783
    Likes Received:
    561
    Hello @dan_tx

    Just tried with an X4 now. Provisioned and installed recommended firmware and it works as intended (see attached image)
    also checked the differences between the X4 and the X4g and it seems that the difference is in the gigabit Ethernet so firmware should work.
    And we do test the firmwares with Fanvil before releasing.
    Are you sure you downloaded the correct firmware from the management console?

    2017-01-24_11h33_34.png
     
  5. YiannisH_3CX

    YiannisH_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    7,783
    Likes Received:
    561
    Please upload your firmware on a web sharing service like dropbox or we transfer and send me the download link in a p.m.
    In the meantime i will investigate if the Fanvil X4g will work with the same firmware as it does not appear in our supported list.
    https://www.3cx.com/sip-phones/
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.