Fanvil X6 firmware 1.2.5 issue, phone attempts to video call

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by dan_tx, Mar 1, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dan_tx

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    22
    We just swapped out about 70 Fanvil X6 phones with HW 1.2 from 1.0 and 1.1. We updated all of them to the latest 3CX firmware 1.2.5. There is a new setting that appears in the new firmware that 3CX does not take into account. It specifically is in the <mm> section of the Fanvil config or the DSP_CONFIG_MODULE of the 3CX template.

    the section that is added in the 1.2.5 firmware and 3CX doesn't address is below.


    <capability>
    <AudioCodecSets>PCMU,PCMA,G726-32,G729,G723,iLBC,AMR,opus,G722</AudioCodecSets>
    <VideoCodecSets>H261</VideoCodecSets>
    <VideoFrameRate>25</VideoFrameRate>
    <VideoBitRate>2000000</VideoBitRate>
    <VideoResolution>4</VideoResolution>
    </capability>

    The problem is having the VideoCodecSet on the X6 (which they do if they are all on the same 1.2.5 firmware), the phone thinks it can Video call. The issue is when you pickup a call from another Fanvil X6, on the left side of the screen appears a large black box as it attempts to display a video call.See the photo below. It moves the ext # and call time to the right side of the screen and doesn't display the caller id during the call. Basically pointless waste of space and will causes users to think their phone isn't working correctly.

    If 3CX or Fanvil have a fix it would be great to hear. The workaround is to make a config file and manually upload it to the Fanvil. The config file can remove the VideoCodecSets so that the phone doesn't think it can display a video call.

    On a side note, one interesting thing is when calling from the Fanvil X6 to a 3CX softphone, the softphone doesn't just provide an "Answer" button as it did on an older firmware, but now displays a "Video" and an "Audio" answer option. So it is noticing the Fanvil X6 offering video calls and to take the call like that. It doesn't work, but it would nice to get info on if there are some settings to configure so a softphone could send video to a Fanvil X6.

    Once the VideoCodecSets are removed, the Fanvil x6 no longer offers video calls to the softphone or to other Fanvil X6's.

    The config file we are having to manually upload to each phone is below. Hopefully 3CX can provide the settings in a their template soon or at least give some direction on another workaround. The worst part about this workaround is if you factor reset the phone or reflash the firmware it will come back. Hopefully the next Fanvil firmware that is "3cx approved" will not have this issue or the 3cx template will get updated.


    *Save the below as a text file minus this line. Then upload it as a config to the Fanvil X6 to remove video calling*

    <<VOIP CONFIG FILE>>Version:2.0000000000
    <MM CONFIG MODULE>

    --PHONE CONFIG-- :
    Video Codec Sets :
    <<END OF FILE>>
     

    Attached Files:

  2. YiannisH_3CX

    YiannisH_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    4,443
    Likes Received:
    282
    Hello @dan_tx

    Please note that these phones actually have the ability to display audio if the other side offers the same codecs and that is why the codes are enabled. We will look into the issue though and see if Fanvil can add an option to enable/disable the video capabilities of these phones.
    Thank you for reporting.
     
    dan_tx likes this.
  3. dan_tx

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    22
    Sounds good. Fanvil needs to not check if the video is supported by the phone calling, but if the phone is sending video. If the phone can't or doesn't send video, why display a black screen.

    It would be nice to send video from the 3cx windows client to a Fanvil x6 display. Or if fanvil allowed a usb webcam attachment to a Fanvil X6. We would use that feature. Does 3CX have any info on if it's windows client can be adjusted to send video to the Fanvil X6?
     
  4. Vali_3CX

    Vali_3CX Well-Known Member
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,445
    Likes Received:
    61
    Hi Dan :)
    Our 3CX client supports H263, H263+ and VP8 - if the Fanvil has one of these codecs, then enable it and video should work.
    Best regards
    vali
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    dan_tx likes this.
  5. Martin Hoerndl

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    same issue here.
    Additional following issue: When we call an Telekom Germany Customer, then we hear nothing. When we disable video call with this great txt file, then we can call Telekom Customers.

    Best regards
    Martin
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.