Fax Server questions (pre-sales advice)

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by pierre.bln, Nov 20, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pierre.bln

Hi,

I have 3 short questions about the Fax Server function of the SMB Edition (it's for a 6-employees company).
    I have quite good IT knowledge, but I'm not an expert, and I think 3CX may be the best solution for me. Hope you guys can help me clarify my last questions:

1 - 3CX Server + Fax Server on Windows XP Pro installation possible?
    I don't understand (with reading the manual) if I can actually use the Fax Server function on a Windows XP Pro machine (it seems it requires Windows Server 03/08). So can I activate the fax server function on my "Windows XP Pro, 3CX IPBX" ? Someone on the French forum answered to this question positively, but on the 3CX manual they only talk about installing the server on Win 2003/2008, so i really have a doubt
    (Don't get mistaken, I do understand that the clients can be used on Win XP, my question really is about the 3CX server / fax server core system. ).

2 - "Fax mailing" function (through 3CX Fax Server + Local Microsoft Fax clients).
    Once the Server installed, and the local fax clients activated on the workstations. Can people actually use more advanced fax mailing options thanks to the Windows XP/Vista fax clients:
    - sending faxes to many recipients as with the mail-merge function in Word/Excel ?
    -program sending time ?
    ...or do I actually need to buy a real "serial fax mailing" software (and in this case, no idea how it will coexist with 3CX and the ISDN adapter...)

3 - ISDN/BRI Patton Adapter question
    To summarize the situation, here in germany, T.38 Fax seems far from being 100% working (I have asked several VoIP providers who support T.38). But still, I want to keep voice on IP because it's more flexible for us (home workers).
    So basically, I am thinking I would have: