Few Questions and a hello

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by jamieshankland, Aug 10, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jamieshankland

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there first thing is first I would like to introduce myself my name is Jamie Shankland I would first of all like to thank you for a brilliant FREE product its unbeliable what you get and it dont cost you a penny I would like to thank everyone for putting such alot of working hours into this product and for offering it FREE i take my hat off to you.

    Now the reason why I came here for a few questions regarding the product - bascially ill explain my setup I am hosting it on a DEDICATED pc in my house so its just for my own purposes, I am wanting to give my mate who stays up the road a number iv set up an extention and all that so its all setup and working and I have managed to setup my SIP gate into it and that works and my extention is working, now the thing is I want to let my mate login but obviously he is not on the same network so he is using my ip or trying to 82.41 blah blah but its not connecting and I have checked my router etc out and it should be ok for letting him connect is there a setting some place that I have over looked?

    another question is if I set up que's on the digital receptionest is there anyway to put multipul people in the que but when the call comes through it tells you where they are calling from like for example say I had a que .. Press 1 for sales .. press 2 for blah press 3... and they pressed 1 it would come through as a sales call but for example im in all the ques.

    One last thing, I want to get like a dedicated Phone that I can plug into my PC or a small hub type thing so I can have the phone plugged into the net I have seen like adapters for example PAP2 adapter would this work and also what phone is the best for using?

    anyways thinks thats it for now I hope someone can answer these questions I have tried to be specific as possible but I do tend to ramble on and go off the topic a bit so if you cant make head of tales of what iv typed let me know and I will try and explain it a bit better.

    Thanks
    Jamie :shock:
     
  2. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,360
    Likes Received:
    226
    To have a remote extension working (and I'm assuming that your mate is using a soft-phone running on a PC), you'll have to enable STUN so that when the phone registers with 3CX it will know what IP and port your friend is using. You will either need to have a fixed public Ip (one that never changes) or be using a DDNS service on your router(where 3CXis located) or a PC on your network. If you can't get the remote phone to register then start looking and possibly post the 3CX logs that show a registration attempt so that any issues can be analyzed and a solution found.

    As to which phone buy....it all depends on how much you want to spend. You can get an analogue telephone adapter (ATA), new, for as little as $35 US if you shop around. This would allow you to plug a standard phone into a small box that then plugs into an Ethernet jack (router/hub/switch). You can spend more and get a phone that has it all combined in one. Shop around, a lot of people sell used devices on places like Craig s list, but beware, many are locked to certain providers (like Vonage) and can't be used (without a lot of work) with any other provider, including 3CX.
     
  3. jamieshankland

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the kind reply I have a static ip that never changes so how can i enable stun? :lol:
     
  4. jamieshankland

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    19:04:39.770 [CM506004]: STUN request to STUN server 82.41.80.137:3478 has timed out; used Transport: 192.168.1.100:5060

    19:04:38.661 [CM506004]: STUN request to STUN server 82.41.80.137:3478 has timed out; used Transport: 192.168.1.100:5060

    19:04:38.661 [CM506004]: STUN request to STUN server 82.41.80.137:3478 has timed out; used Transport: 192.168.1.100:5060

    19:04:38.661 [CM506004]: STUN request to STUN server 82.41.80.137:3478 has timed out; used Transport: 192.168.1.100:5060

    19:04:38.161 [CM506004]: STUN request to STUN server 82.41.80.137:3478 has timed out; used Transport: 192.168.1.100:5060

    19:04:36.755 [CM506004]: STUN request to STUN server 82.41.80.137:3478 has timed out; used Transport: 192.168.1.100:5060

    19:04:35.645 [CM506004]: STUN request to STUN server 82.41.80.137:3478 has timed out; used Transport: 192.168.1.100:5060

    19:04:35.645 [CM506004]: STUN request to STUN server 82.41.80.137:3478 has timed out; used Transport: 192.168.1.100:5060

    19:04:35.645 [CM506004]: STUN request to STUN server 82.41.80.137:3478 has timed out; used Transport: 192.168.1.100:5060

    19:04:35.145 [CM506004]: STUN request to STUN server 82.41.80.137:3478 has timed out; used Transport: 192.168.1.100:5060

    19:04:33.739 [CM506004]: STUN request to STUN server 82.41.80.137:3478 has timed out; used Transport: 192.168.1.100:5060

    19:04:32.583 [CM506004]: STUN request to STUN server 82.41.80.137:3478 has timed out; used Transport: 192.168.1.100:5060

    19:04:32.583 [CM506004]: STUN request to STUN server 82.41.80.137:3478 has timed out; used Transport: 192.168.1.100:5060
     
  5. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,360
    Likes Received:
    226
    I'm assuming that those are the logs from 3cx. If STUN isn't working on the PBX then you probably need to look at your port forwarding setup in the router that 3CX is connected to. There are a number of ports that need to be forwarded, this info is given in the manual which you should have downloaded and (hopefully) read.

    STUN also need to be enabled at the far end, the remote extension, so it can tell 3CX all of the details of where it is.
     
  6. jamieshankland

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes I have been lookin in the manual and trying to work it out, i can even try it without my router, sorry about this I will keep looking over all the settings and see if i can work it out and yes sorry thats the log from my 3cx
     
  7. tpinnovations

    tpinnovations Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you using the 3CX stun servers? Try to run a tracert to that stun server;

    tracert 82.41.80.137


    Paste the result here.

    Also make sure that you have forwarded the following ports to your 3CX Box:


    Port 5060 (UDP) for SIP communications (send & receive)
    Port 3478 (UDP) for communication with the STUN server (send & receive)
    Port 9000-9010 (or higher) (UDP) (send & receive) for RTP communications
    Port 5481 (TCP) for the 3CX Phone System management console
    Port 7000 to 7500 (UDP) for internal calls
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. jamieshankland

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    First thing is first thanks to everyone who replied and a big thanks to tpinnovations for the great help cheers mike you really helped me out!!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.