Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

Forward extension to mobile without provisioned phone

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by mtheory3cx, Jul 26, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mtheory3cx

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    I had an extension that previously had a Polycom SPIP 331 provisioned for it. Calls to that extension were being forwarded to a mobile number which worked fine. Since calls were being forwarded to the mobile, we wanted to free up that phone by provisioning it to someone who was actually in the office. I've reprovisioned the phone but now that mobile number can't be reached now. (i.e. calls are not connecting to that extension to forward to that mobile number)

    I'm guessing that you can't do this because that extension no longer has a provisioned phone. Is there a way to make this work? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
     
  2. craigreilly

    craigreilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,552
    Likes Received:
    298
    Under the extension settings in 3cx, make it ring the mobile when the phone is "Busy" which should be same as phone not connected. Might as well set "No Answer" to call mobile number as well.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. mtheory3cx

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your quick reply. I was doing research before I posted this question and I tried that. I still get "Call transfer failed". I did a test--I created a brand new extension, with no phone provisioned to it, and set the forwarding to my mobile, with those options. Still got the same message. My temporary fix was to provision a softphone to that extension to have calls resume as normal while I figure this out. Thoughts?
     
  4. mtheory3cx

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I should have stated this in the first post, but I am running 3CX version 10.0.2. My newly created test extension (x667) has a mobile number on it, and in the "Forwarding Rules" tab, under "No Answer" and "Phone is busy" I have them both set to "Send call to my mobile number".
     
  5. craigreilly

    craigreilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,552
    Likes Received:
    298
    try setting to a different status and have that status forward to mobile and see what happens.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. lneblett

    lneblett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,086
    Likes Received:
    64
    The status should show as available and busy or unregistered should be set to forward to mobile.you also need to make sure that there is still an applicable outbound rule for the extension so that when it does try and transfer it has a route to do so. This is where it sounds like it is failing. A log post would help as well, if the routes and rules are correctly set.
     
  7. mtheory3cx

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's what I was doing. The problem now, is for some reason, the extension I created is now unregistered. Server Event Log shows that it was registered for
    7/26/2012 11:04:06 AM Information 4101 Extension 667 is unregistered, removed contact: sip:667@127.0.0.1:5488
    7/26/2012 11:04:06 AM Information 4101 Extension 667 is registered, contact: sip:667@127.0.0.1:5488

    I'm not even sure where it's getting port 5488. All my other registered extensions register fine with 5060.

    So right now, the test extension I created shows that it is RED "Not Registered", and I've set up forwarding rules to go to my mobile on both "No Answer" and "Phone is busy".

    When I test it, I get a "Call transfer failed, phone is busy"

    Server Activity Log shows nada
    09:36:17.865 [CM503008]: Call(1472): Call is terminated
    09:36:11.488 [MS210003] C:1472.2:Answer provided. Connection(transcoding mode[unsecure]):127.0.0.1:7378(7379)
    09:36:11.486 [MS210001] C:1472.1:Answer received. RTP connection[unsecure]: 192.168.11.61:16112(16113)

    And now, I've noticed that calls are number sequentially anymore. They all seem to be labeled 1472 or 1472.1 (looking at all the calls, not just the above)
     
  8. lneblett

    lneblett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,086
    Likes Received:
    64
    The extension should show as unregistered as there is no physical or soft phone ( that I know of) that is connected to the system. You want a call directed to that extension to immediately send the call out to your mobile. So now the question is, why is the transfer failing? While not certain, you may want to look at settings, advanced, custom and look for a key "allowuseBusyoptforgroup" and change the entry and then try. This may require a system restart, which I would do to be safe and then try.
     
  9. lneblett

    lneblett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,086
    Likes Received:
    64
    To be clear, you did not make the extension a part of a ring group or queue, correct? Also, You are not trying to use MyPhone to manage the extension either; it is simply a standalone pseudo extension with nothing connected or contolling same?
     
  10. mtheory3cx

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your reply. Yes, that is correct. I've created a test extension that has not been added to any sort of ring group or queue. It has literally just been created and I would like to have it forwarded to a mobile number (if that's possible). Right now, the extension shows as unregistered.

    To recap, the reason I'm doing this is because an extension that PREVIOUSLY had phone provisioned to it, had calls forwarded to its mobile number with no problems. We thought we could free up that phone for someone else in the office, but after that phone got reprovisioned to someone else, the mobile call forwarding for that other extension didn't work anymore.

    I will try what you suggested and let you know what I find. Thanks.
     
  11. mtheory3cx

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    I've tried the above suggestion with no luck. I'm starting to wonder if this is even possible. Right now I'm getting by with provisioning a softphone for that extension on the server, but I'd like to find a permanent solution in case multiple users may need this solution.

    So far, this is the info to recap:
    3CX Version 10
    Sangoma PRI with Netborder Express Gateway (I apologize i that wasn't mentioned before)
    Created test extension (e.g. 667) as a standalone
    -Not apart of any ring groups or queues
    -Has no hard or soft phones provisioned to it.
    -Changed ALL forwarding rules to have it route calls to mobile number
    Look into Settings>Advanced>Custom: :allowuseBusyoptforgroup was already 1. I rebooted the phone system.

    I still get "Call transfer failed, phone is busy"
     
  12. lneblett

    lneblett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,086
    Likes Received:
    64
    It is definitely possible as I have one location that is doing this exact same thing on 4different extensions and is still on V10. Can you post 1 entire verbose log. Also, what happens if the unregistered extension is attempted to be contacted from an external call using a standard phone number, not external extension?
     
  13. mtheory3cx

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually, the unregistered extension (667) is being contacted by an external standard number. This is the procedure: I call from the outside with a cellphone, it hits the PBX and the autoattendant, I dial extension 667, I get "Call transfer failed, phone is busy". Here is the verbose log. The external call is coming from 3239872883 TRAM ANH NGUYEN


    11:31:55.117 [CM503008]: Call(252): Call is terminated
    11:31:54.100 Currently active calls - 2: [250,252]
    11:31:44.887 [MS210003] C:252.2:Answer provided. Connection(transcoding mode[unsecure]):127.0.0.1:7190(7191)
    11:31:44.886 [MS210001] C:252.1:Answer received. RTP connection[unsecure]: 192.168.11.61:18162(18163)
    11:31:44.884 Remote SDP is set for legC:252.1
    11:31:44.773 [MS210002] C:252.1:Offer provided. Connection(transcoding mode): 192.168.11.61:7188(7189)
    11:31:44.771 [MS210000] C:252.2:Offer received. RTP connection: 127.0.0.1:40760(40761)
    11:31:44.769 Remote SDP is set for legC:252.2
    11:31:44.548 [CM503016]: Call(252): Attempt to reach <sip:667@127.0.0.1:5060> failed. Reason: Busy
    11:31:44.547 [CM303006]: There's no outbound rule for external number '2134449597' defined
    11:31:44.544 [CM503016]: Call(252): Attempt to reach <sip:667@127.0.0.1:5060> failed. Reason: Not Registered
    11:31:44.544 [CM503017]: Call(252): Target is not registered: Ext.667
    11:31:44.541 [CM503010]: Making route(s) to <sip:667@127.0.0.1:5060>
    11:31:44.539 Refer: from=<sip:802@127.0.0.1:5060>;tag=9417d722; to="TRAM ANH NGUYEN"<sip:2139872883@127.0.0.1:5060;nf=e>;tag=f4184542; RefTo=<sip:667@127.0.0.1:5060>
    11:31:44.320 [MS210003] C:252.2:Answer provided. Connection(transcoding mode[unsecure]):127.0.0.1:7190(7191)
    11:31:44.318 [MS210001] C:252.1:Answer received. RTP connection[unsecure]: 192.168.11.61:18162(18163)
    11:31:44.316 Remote SDP is set for legC:252.1
    11:31:44.202 [MS210002] C:252.1:Offer provided. Connection(transcoding mode): 192.168.11.61:7188(7189)
    11:31:44.201 [MS210000] C:252.2:Offer received. RTP connection: 127.0.0.1:40760(40761)
    11:31:44.198 Remote SDP is set for legC:252.2
    11:31:41.064 [MS211000] C:252.1: 192.168.11.61:18162 is delivering DTMF using RTP payload (RFC2833). In-Band DTMF tone detection is disabled for this call segment.
    11:31:34.654 Session 34051 of leg C:252.1 is confirmed
    11:31:34.565 [CM503007]: Call(252): Device joined: sip:802@127.0.0.1:40600;rinstance=90f1464a1a4e5a0f
    11:31:34.561 [CM503007]: Call(252): Device joined: sip:10000@192.168.11.61:5066
     
  14. SY

    SY Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    2
    It is answer for your question
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. lneblett

    lneblett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,086
    Likes Received:
    64
    And there you have it.
     
  16. mtheory3cx

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the quick reply. That did the trick. As soon as I created an outbound rule for extension 667 it worked. Thanks so much guys.

    I noticed that on my caller ID on the mobile phone, the caller ID was the same as my pstn port number. "10000" I may create a separate thread for this but I'll do a search first. Cheers.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.