FQDN and SSL Cert

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by sanpliance, Jul 15, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sanpliance

Yeah, this whole ssl thing during installation is a bit too draconian for my taste. I'm a network admin, and I know how to get certs, install them, etc...but this is always client based. you have to generate a request file, get it signed by the registrar, and then you have it to install..., but wrapping that up into the 3cx installation process has my at a stand still. 3cx now uses nginix on windows, so I can't just hop over to get a free cert, their windows clients are based on IIS. what should happen, is a self-signed should be generated during installation, allowing for replacement later by the admin.
    2 options during install, using the new command line based 3cx pbx configuration tool, 3cx generated, or my own fqdn, with a cert, but you have to have the cert ahead of time, this leaves customers pbx's down while we get this straightened out.
    if we use a 3cx fqdn, (probably the quickest installation route), then customers are tied to mixing their pbx url with a 3cx domain.
    I exited out of the configuration tool, only to find it wasn't installed as a program in the windows list, so without knowing the right executable to get back to where I was, I had to un-install, and re-install to get back to the wizard.

This whole process needs re-thought, you are going to get a lot of complaints during customer upgrades.
    Just my opinion.

2. sanpliance

Do you have a blog post on how we are supposed to generate a certificate request, and get it signed for nginix, since it's incorporated into 3cx now? will we have to pre-install nginix, generate cert request, get a cert file, then install 3cx, and will nginix conflict with the one to be installed by 3cx? major questions about all this. v14 installer worked fine, letting us as the pbx admin choose.