FQDN Problem

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by tolkap, Aug 14, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tolkap

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    hello everybody.

    i am facing a certain problem. when i type the 3cx fqdn in my browser i cannot connect to 3cx management console....when i do the same thing form a computer outside my network with a different public ip (through vpn) the management console opens.

    any thoughts?
     
  2. Saqqara

    Saqqara Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    125
    Need to setup spilt dns https://www.3cx.com/docs/creating-fqdn-split-dns/

    On your internal network , fqdn will not resolve to the 3cx server.

    The reason it works external, is that 3cx gives you a fqdn to the external wan ip address so you are accessing the console via this - nothing to do with the vpn
     
  3. tolkap

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for the reply. any thought on how i can do this on an edgerouter with windows 10?
     
  4. Nickelpede

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Use the internal IP address of the 3CX when you are attached to the LAN.
    Something like Https://192.168.0.10/5001
    It's a bit difficult to touch the external interface of you firewall when you are inside the zone of protection.
    (Try ringing your doorbell when you are sitting in the living room)
     
  5. tolkap

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for your reply. this works but with my previous router i didn't have to do this. i typed the fqdn in the address bar of the browser and it worked...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.