Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

FXO and FXS

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by hoangmn, Oct 24, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hoangmn

I am new to VOIP and trying to get start to convert our traditional PBX system to VOIP PBX. I'm trying to figure out what else to buy beside 3CX and SIP phone.
    -Does anyone have any recommendation for SIP phone? I'm planning to buy Yealink since it is on the list of 3CX supported HW.

I read 3CX explanation about FXO and FXS but it is still not clear. The PHONE in 3CX diagram, is it a SIP phone or analog phone?

1-To start if I use an approved VOIP provider with 100% SIP phone, I don't need to have any VOIP gateway.
    I just need to have 3CX installed and and an Internet line with router. Am I right?
    2-As in 1 above, if I have a analog fax machine, I will need an FXS port gateway, right?

3-If I am going to keep my analog phone lines and use 100% SIP phone I guess that I will only need to buy a VOIP gateway with FXO ports, right? I'm thinking to buy Patton 4118 with 4FXO/4FXS. Since FXS is only for analog device which in that case I just need to connect it straight to my analog line, it is a waste to buy that many FXS ports because they don't have any 10 FXO ports VOIP gateway to use my analog lines. Any alternate gateway with many FXO ports? I have 10 analog lines.

4-If I want to go hybrid VOIP, that means 6 VOIP and 4 analog lines (in case internet down, I still can use analog).
    I don't need any gateway for the 6 VOIP lines, I only need to set up 3CX to accept VOIP provider, right?
    For analog lines, I need to have 4 FXO ports gateway, right?

Thank you in advance.

2. amygoda

amygoda Member

Hello,
    you are right
    you need fxo port for each analog line