Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

G722

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by rico06, Jul 21, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rico06

    rico06 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    where do we set 3cx to use G722, on the phone (if it is compatible, 3CX phone is not then) or at the provider level ?
     
  2. nb

    nb Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,153
    Likes Received:
    172
    G722 can only be used between phones directly. In Version 9 3CX will allow phones to communicate directly in G722 and fixes were made to enable transfers and hold/resume to work correctly.
    You cannot configure the codec in 3CX itself.
    Since the VoIP Provider is bound to Media server, then G722 will not work. If you unbind it and forward directly to a phone that has G722 enabled, then this will work.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. coreybrett

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    What do you mean by "Media server"?
     
  4. nb

    nb Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,153
    Likes Received:
    172
    I mean that 3CX internal Media server does not have native support for G722 at the moment. This will be available in V10 (next version).

    So in the meantime the phones have to talk directly and not be configured to pass through the 3CX Media Server. to do this, the phone have to have this edit extension option unchecked = PBX Delivers Audio.

    Like this the phones will pass sip through 3CX Call Manager but will negotiate the audio as they want it between them without 3CX Media Server. Like this you can speak in unsupported codecs until we implement the functionality from our side.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. coreybrett

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    If " PBX Delivers Audio" is selected on the phone extension and the VOIP provider, and both ends are using the same codec, what happens?
     
  6. nb

    nb Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,153
    Likes Received:
    172
    Media server will have nothing to transcode because they are both talking the same language.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. coreybrett

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Would the RTP packets still flow via the 3CX server, or from one phone to the other?

    How does having call recording enabled on an extension effect things?
     
  8. nb

    nb Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,153
    Likes Received:
    172
    If pbx del audio is checked then pkts will flow through ms yes
    Recording means that extensions are bound to media server. It is like Recording and Pbx delivers audio do the same thing.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. coreybrett

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the info :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.