General Questions before buying 3cx

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by edmond, Mar 14, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. edmond

Dear All,

I am still new in the SIP world and have been reading your posts/wikis for a while now.

In my company, we are still using an old PBX and are willing to buy the 3CX system for allll the advantages it has.

We currently have 6 PSTN lines (analog) and 45 internal extensions (35 in office and 10 others in remote locations but on the same network and range of ips). I have installed 3cx on a win xp sp2 pentium 4, 2gb ram machine, and have been using a Siemens C470, Dlink dvs-2001, and LINKSYS 3102 ATA mode + Gateway for my tests. The setup went veryyyy smoothly ; starting very positively!

Here are some points that I would like to clarify before switching all my extensions to 3cx and investing in IP Phones: Your feedback would be highly appreciated

- When I call from the SPA3102 ATA to the Siemens C470, ext 100 to ext 125, I have to wait for 3 or 4 seconds before the call connects. Using the old PBX, the call connects/rings as soon as I hit the 3rd digit of the extension i am calling (number 5 in this case). Can this issue be solved with 3cx?

- I am planning to buy Cisco 7940 phones or linksys 942: Can I use the transfer button on these phones? What about normal phones behind an VOIP gateway, can I transfer calls from them?

-The BLF can be used with the cisco 7940, 7960 and linksys 9XX, but Can I configure them in a way to know if a PSTN line is currently being used?

- Can I upload the phonebook in 3cx to any SIP phone that supports an address book function?

- Which Phone Gateway do you advice to use for my 6 PSTN lines?

- Do you support Linksys SPA8000 as an 8 ports FXS?

Thank you very much in advance for your help,

Edmund

2. mbaltus

if you dial a # after the number, it will probably connect you directly.