• V20: 3CX Re-engineered. Get V20 for increased security, better call management, a new admin console and Windows softphone. Learn More.

GENERIC SIP Configuration

Status
Not open for further replies.

Trinexus

Reaction score
Hi:

I am new to 3CX and the communications arena. I have a 3CX installation with 3 Voip lines incoming from a service in US (we are located in Puerto Rico). The Voip Service is presenting some challenges due to latency. I request a SIP trunk from a local provider (Claro). Now I have to configure it.

From all the information available, I understand that the SIP should be configured as a Generic SIP / IP Based - provider only gave me an IP and when I asked they told me they do not provide a login/authentication password for the lines.

The SIP have 36 DIDs.

I installed a second NIC to the server and connected the SIP directly to the Provider's equipment. I did configured the IP on the card. I did create the Generic SIP /IP Based entry on the 3cx. All the test I did (incoming/outgoing) are failing.

I would like to start by defining that some specific calls are send through this new SIP to test it (outgoing).

Can anyone guide me where to find the correct steps for a case like this? Should I create static routes on the server for a specific service and set something on the 3CX?

Any help will be appreciated.

Many users avoid two NICs as issues can arise. This does have some information about adding the second NIC. (it's a few years old)

http://www.3cx.com/blog/docs/network-co ... ne-system/

Not sure if your set-up will be similar. You might want to provide additional information about how (public/Private IP) the cards are configured. Someone else might have the same set-up.