Gizmo as remote (WAN) extension on 3CX?

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by vanDivX, Feb 21, 2007.

1. vanDivX

Hi there, I have this idea which might not be feasible at all, I am new to SIP telephony as well as to 3CX or any other PBX

I installed 3CX in remote location (where I have remote access to - at my parents house) and created several extensions plus configured and successfully registered PSTN line on SPA3102 voipgate on which there is a phone on Line1

I have also forwarded ports on my router - SIP 5060, Stun 3478, RTP 9000-9007 and RTP 7000-7007, all UDP (the idea of the last 7000 range was that I would have 'WAN' extensions rather than LAN as normally and I thought it can't hurt things and can be disable later if not needed after all)

now in my current location I installed Gizmo software, made acct and then in Options-Advanced field, I selected Transport Setup 'Custom' and put in my own vaues of SIP Port ID: 5060 (orig value 64064) and RTP Port ID: 9000 (orig val 5004) and also pressed the button there Connection Settings and filed in Manual Proxy Configuration HTTP: http://x.x.x.x:5060 and pressed button Authentication and input in there my 3CX login Username and Pass for one of my Extensions I made there previously...

then I logged out of Gizmo and attempted to login to remote 3CX by writing as Account Name and Pass my 3CX Extension name and pass

that didn't connect anywhere, so I checkmarked box at the bottom on the Gizmo login pannel 'Login to Asterisk, PBX.... and configured it again with my 3CX Extension login details - you input there IP:port and Name and Pass BUT it still won't connect, it pops up window that I must be connected to internet and such stuff, I also can watch 3CX in remote location and it shows nothing happening, not even in system logs

so I was gonna ask if this whole idea is no good at all because one can't have WAN extensions to 3CX or it should be done some other way?