Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

Grandstream GXW4104 - UK - 3rd party hang up not detected

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by JamesC, Dec 5, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JamesC

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everyone.

    The subject says it all really.

    I'm trying to setup a Grandstream GXW4104 in the UK. It's connected to a single BT socket and refuses to detect the other party hanging up.

    On hang-up I hear a clear tone (which I have recorded/analysed and found to be 400Hz). I have set what I believe to be appropriate settings for this tone but it still does not work. (Note that the 400Hz figure also matches all the specs I found on the Internet for a UK disconnect tone).

    Here are my settings:

    FXO Lines page
    Enable Current Disconnect: No
    Enable Tone Disconnect: Yes
    Enable Polarity Reversal: No
    AC Termination Impedance: 370 Ohm + (640 Ohm || 310nF) <- Correct UK setting

    Channels page
    Dial tone: ch1-4:f1=350@-11,f2=440@-11,c=0/0;
    Ringback tone: ch1-4:f1=440@-11,f2=480@-11,c=200/400;
    Busy tone: ch1-4:f1=400@-11,f2=400@-11,c=300/0;
    Reorder tone: ch1-4:f1=400@-11,f2=400@-11,c=300/0;
    Confirmation tone: ch1-4:f1=350@-11,f2=440@-11,c=10/10;

    Please note that I have set the Busy and Reorder tones to the same setting, in accordance with various pieces of information I have found on the Internet.

    I have also tried several other settings for Busy/Reorder tone, including:
    ch1-4:f1=400@-11,f2=400@-11,c=400/0;
    ch1-4:f1=400@-11,f2=0@-11,c=400/0;
    ch1-4:f1=400@-5,f2=400@-5,c=300/0;

    Can anyone assist me?

    I'm sure there must be someone in the UK who has this device working!

    Cheers,

    Jame
     
  2. bigsiqc

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi James

    I spent a couple of hours last night messing about with the 4104.

    I am afraid I have to go into a meeting now but in the meantime have alook at the firmware version which can be foun under the status tab and if it is not 1.0.1.2 or higher I would update it from:

    http://www.grandstream.com/DOWNLOAD/FIRMWARE/GXW4104_GXW4108/Release_GXW4104_GXW4108_1.0.1.2.zip

    You have to have a tftp server on your machine but if you look at the manual you can read about this on page 29:

    http://www.grandstream.com/user_manuals/GXW410x_User_Manual.pdf

    Hope this helps. If not I will try to help later.

    Simon
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. JamesC

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Simon. I had already upgraded the firmware though.

    My versions are as follows:

    Program-- 1.0.1.2
    Loader-- 1.0.0.7
    Boot-- 1.0.1.1
     
  4. bigsiqc

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi James,

    Just grabbed 5 minutes. The obvious difference from our box (which is now working at last!) is that we have enable current disconnect set to yes and tone disconnect to no.

    Worth a try.

    If not I should get 10 mins again in a couple of hours.

    Simon
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. JamesC

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I also tried current disconnect. I'm sure it should be tone disconnect though. (As I definitely hear a tone!)

    I'm currently waiting for a call back from my phone company (we don't use BT directly, we use Worldwide) where they should confirm which disconnection method is used.
     
  6. JamesC

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh.. and do you actually have disconnection detection working properly?

    Cheers,

    James
     
  7. bigsiqc

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Our box on a BT line does work fine..... but we had a problem with the first box that was useless and never worked at all. Ex=ventually got it exchanged.

    Simon
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. JamesC

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmmm.. that doesn't bode well. :-(

    James
     
  9. cscashby

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I solved this problem with a BT line by using the dial tone as the disconnect tone:

    f1=350@-11,f2=440@-11,c=0/0;

    Our office phone lines at least disconnect at the exchange and revert to a dialtone, and the grandstream box will detect that and hang up.

    --
    Christian Ashby
    Spiralinks Ltd.
     
  10. cscashby

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Correction; this does not solve the problem, as the ATA rings, hangs up, rings, continuously...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.