Grandstream GXW4104 - UK - 3rd party hang up not detected

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by JamesC, Dec 5, 2007.

  1. JamesC

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everyone.

    The subject says it all really.

    I'm trying to setup a Grandstream GXW4104 in the UK. It's connected to a single BT socket and refuses to detect the other party hanging up.

    On hang-up I hear a clear tone (which I have recorded/analysed and found to be 400Hz). I have set what I believe to be appropriate settings for this tone but it still does not work. (Note that the 400Hz figure also matches all the specs I found on the Internet for a UK disconnect tone).

    Here are my settings:

    FXO Lines page
    Enable Current Disconnect: No
    Enable Tone Disconnect: Yes
    Enable Polarity Reversal: No
    AC Termination Impedance: 370 Ohm + (640 Ohm || 310nF) <- Correct UK setting

    Channels page
    Dial tone: ch1-4:f1=350@-11,f2=440@-11,c=0/0;
    Ringback tone: ch1-4:f1=440@-11,f2=480@-11,c=200/400;
    Busy tone: ch1-4:f1=400@-11,f2=400@-11,c=300/0;
    Reorder tone: ch1-4:f1=400@-11,f2=400@-11,c=300/0;
    Confirmation tone: ch1-4:f1=350@-11,f2=440@-11,c=10/10;

    Please note that I have set the Busy and Reorder tones to the same setting, in accordance with various pieces of information I have found on the Internet.

    I have also tried several other settings for Busy/Reorder tone, including:
    ch1-4:f1=400@-11,f2=400@-11,c=400/0;
    ch1-4:f1=400@-11,f2=0@-11,c=400/0;
    ch1-4:f1=400@-5,f2=400@-5,c=300/0;

    Can anyone assist me?

    I'm sure there must be someone in the UK who has this device working!

    Cheers,

    Jame
     
  2. bigsiqc

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi James

    I spent a couple of hours last night messing about with the 4104.

    I am afraid I have to go into a meeting now but in the meantime have alook at the firmware version which can be foun under the status tab and if it is not 1.0.1.2 or higher I would update it from:

    http://www.grandstream.com/DOWNLOAD/FIRMWARE/GXW4104_GXW4108/Release_GXW4104_GXW4108_1.0.1.2.zip

    You have to have a tftp server on your machine but if you look at the manual you can read about this on page 29:

    http://www.grandstream.com/user_manuals/GXW410x_User_Manual.pdf

    Hope this helps. If not I will try to help later.

    Simon
     
  3. JamesC

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Simon. I had already upgraded the firmware though.

    My versions are as follows:

    Program-- 1.0.1.2
    Loader-- 1.0.0.7
    Boot-- 1.0.1.1
     
  4. bigsiqc

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi James,

    Just grabbed 5 minutes. The obvious difference from our box (which is now working at last!) is that we have enable current disconnect set to yes and tone disconnect to no.

    Worth a try.

    If not I should get 10 mins again in a couple of hours.

    Simon
     
  5. JamesC

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I also tried current disconnect. I'm sure it should be tone disconnect though. (As I definitely hear a tone!)

    I'm currently waiting for a call back from my phone company (we don't use BT directly, we use Worldwide) where they should confirm which disconnection method is used.
     
  6. JamesC

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh.. and do you actually have disconnection detection working properly?

    Cheers,

    James
     
  7. bigsiqc

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Our box on a BT line does work fine..... but we had a problem with the first box that was useless and never worked at all. Ex=ventually got it exchanged.

    Simon
     
  8. JamesC

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmmm.. that doesn't bode well. :-(

    James
     
  9. cscashby

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I solved this problem with a BT line by using the dial tone as the disconnect tone:

    f1=350@-11,f2=440@-11,c=0/0;

    Our office phone lines at least disconnect at the exchange and revert to a dialtone, and the grandstream box will detect that and hang up.

    --
    Christian Ashby
    Spiralinks Ltd.
     
  10. cscashby

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Correction; this does not solve the problem, as the ATA rings, hangs up, rings, continuously...
     

Share This Page