Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

GXP2110 Dial Plan Help

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by running, Nov 17, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. running

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, on my Cisco SPA phones they dial after we type in either a 10 or 11 digit string with this dial plan

    (*xx|[3469]11|0|00|[2-9]xxxxxx|1xxx[2-9]xxxxxxS0|xxxxxxxxxxxx.)

    I tried putting this into our Grandstreams but it does not work. I basically want the phone to automatically dial once we put in a valid 10 or 11 digit number. I'm not talking about the timeout feature defaulted to 4 seconds either. How can I make this dial plan work for GXP2110?
     
  2. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    11,079
    Likes Received:
    324
    I looked over the rules for the Grandstream set as i haven't set one up before..

    Dial Plan Rules:
    1. Accepted Digits: 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,0 , *, #, A,a,B,b,C,c,D,d
    2. Grammar: x - any digit from 0-9;
    a) xx+ - at least 2 digit numbers
    b) xx. - only 2 digit numbers
    c) ^ - exclude
    d) [3-5] - any digit of 3, 4, or 5
    e) [147] - any digit of 1, 4, or 7
    f) <2=011> - replace digit 2 with 011 when dialing
    g) | - the OR operand
    • Example 1: {[369]11 | 1617xxxxxxx}
    Allow 311, 611, and 911 or any 10 digit numbers with leading digits 1617
    • Example 2: {^1900x+ | <=1617>xxxxxxx}
    Block any number of leading digits 1900 or add prefix 1617 for any dialed 7 digit

    numbers
    • Example 3: {1xxx[2-9]xxxxxx | <2=011>x+}
    Allows any number with leading digit 1 followed by a 3 digit number, followed by any number between 2 and 9, followed by any 7 digit number OR Allows any length of numbers with leading digit 2, replacing the 2 with 011 when dialed.
    3. Default: Outgoing – {x+}
    Allow any length of numbers.
    Example of a simple dial plan used in a Home/Office in the US:
    { ^1900x. | <=1617>[2-9]xxxxxx | 1[2-9]xx[2-9]xxxxxx | 011[2-9]x. | [3469]11 }
    Explanation of example rule (reading from left to right):
    • ^1900x. - prevents dialing any number started with 1900
    • <=1617>[2-9]xxxxxx - allows dialing to local area code (617) numbers by dialing
    7 numbers and 1617 area code will be added automatically

    • 1[2-9]xx[2-9]xxxxxx |- allows dialing to any US/Canada Number with 11 digits
    length
    • 011[2-9]x. - allows international calls starting with 011
    • [3469]11 - allow dialing special and emergency numbers 311, 411, 611 and 911
    Note: In some cases where the user wishes to dial strings such as *123 to activate voice mail or other applications provided by their service provider, the * should be predefined inside the dial plan feature. An example dial plan will be: { *x+ } which allows the user to dial * followed by any length of numbers.

    There doesn't appear to be a symbol to immediately send the digits, as there is with the Linksys/Cisco devices.
    The dialplan only seems to be able to permit or deny certain digit strings. They seem to expect you to either wait for the timeout period, or hit the Dial/Send key.

    Perhaps someone else, more familiar with the sets, has worked out another solution.
     
  3. running

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can't be the only one that wants this feature, for a preferred phone of 3CX you would think that this is a no brainier.....
     
  4. sigma1

    sigma1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is it just too hard to press #? In a world where everyone has a cell phone and presses send, adding # should not be such a big deal.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    11,079
    Likes Received:
    324
    I guess this is why it is a good idea to do some in depth research before choosing any SIP sets. They are not all created equal.
     
  6. 3cx

    3cx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I browsed around aswell, can't find anything that could force a send from Grandstream phones, the best thing to do in this case is to contact Grandstream support.
    Maybe they will be nice enough to implement it.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.