• V20: 3CX Re-engineered. Get V20 for increased security, better call management, a new admin console and Windows softphone. Learn More.

HA (Failover) and Private IP Addressing

Status
Not open for further replies.

JayNZ

Bronze Partner
Advanced Certified
Reaction score
Hey Team,

I've been using 3CX for many years, but I'm about to put in my first 3CX Enterprise System which will use HA and in all honesty I just can't get my head around this!

What I need to understand in order to design the HA is if the Private IP Address of the 3CX server stays the same between the two servers. I appreciate the Public IP must be different and we're using NAT which all makes sense, however if we're using the same Firewall but with two Public IP's, then I can't have a rule to go to the same IP even if the machines are using 192.168.10.1 but on separate VLAN's as an example.

How does this all work?

Thanks for your time 3CX Guru's!

Cheers,
Jay

Hello @JayNZ

Please find the guide regarding the failover here. Please let me know if any clarifications are needed.

What I need to understand in order to design the HA is if the Private IP Address of the 3CX server stays the same between the two servers.

The private IP of the servers should not be the same, the phones should be provisioned using an FQDN. You then need to control your local DNS server and switch the DNS entry to the private IP of the active server. Once the failover is triggered a script will be launched which will switch the local DNS entry to the failover servers local IP.

Thank you for the reply. I have already reviewed the guide prior to posting here but still do not have a complete understanding of the failover configuration.