• V20: 3CX Re-engineered. Get V20 for increased security, better call management, a new admin console and Windows softphone. Learn More.

Hack attempt!

Status
Not open for further replies.

haywardi

Free User
Reaction score
A word of warning and some advise needed.

Just noticed my Internet running VERY slowly, did the normal thngs like reboot my router thinking it had a problem, but it didn't fix. Started checking my installation until I noticed hundreds of entries in the 3cx server log saying
Authentication failed and a number of blacklist entries to ip 50.56.101.178. I'm not a network expert but from my knowledge this ip lives somewhere in china...

Thought I may stop the attack by closing my open ports to the 3cx server, so disabled these at my router. A few minutes later the Internet started working again, but still not as fast as usual. I also upped the blacklist time to 3660 seconds.

First the warning, someone is clearly trying to hack into the system, hopefully they will move on shortly, but it could be to you so watch out..

Secondly the advise. It seems reasonable to me that it should be possible to put an ip on a total blacklist that is never allowed to reconnect, but the best I seem to be able to do is limit the length of time before it can simoly try again.

Is there a proper, non temporary blacklist? Or better still a Whitelist for the ip's that can connect?

Thanks in advance
Iain

Hi, all this will be available soon in 3CX V10

Ok, even more curious. With my ports (5060, 5090 and 9000-9049) no longer being forwarded by my router, I'm still getting failed registration attempts from the same ip address... I'll try rebooting my router again in case just Switching off the open ports needed a reboot to become effective.

But does anyone think there may be another way this attack is happening?

Thanks in advance
Iain

You need to block the remote attacker by their ip address or only allow sip 5060 access from your VoIP provider