• V20: 3CX Re-engineered. Get V20 for increased security, better call management, a new admin console and Windows softphone. Learn More.

Hardphone local and remote

Status
Not open for further replies.

gary2seven

Reaction score
I am new to the 3CX and only just starting my config.

I need to configure a couple of Wi-Fi hard phones that staff are going to use both in the office and from home/on the road.

The idea is they bring the phone with them and therefore have the same extension number wherever they are.

What is the best way to set this up?

Gary.

gary2seven said:
I am new to the 3CX and only just starting my config.

I need to configure a couple of Wi-Fi hard phones that staff are going to use both in the office and from home/on the road.

The idea is they bring the phone with them and therefore have the same extension number wherever they are.

What is the best way to set this up?

Gary.

It will be difficult to have a 'works anywhere' phone because for external phones you will have seperate settings such as outbound proxy and STUN server. I am not sure if there are any wifi phones that allow multiple 'profiles' that you can just select depending on where you are. Mabey Kerry can chime in as he is pretty knowledgable about a lot different vendors phones.

The best option would be to play some DNS tricks if you can. On the internal office network DNS server have something like pbx.companyname.com resolve to an internal IP but out on the internet have pbx.companyname.com resolve to a public IP.

KerryG said:
The best option would be to play some DNS tricks if you can. On the internal office network DNS server have something like pbx.companyname.com resolve to an internal IP but out on the internet have pbx.companyname.com resolve to a public IP.

Sounds like a plan!

Thanks Kerry - I'll let you know how I get on :)