Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

hello from new user

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by seanc, May 25, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. seanc

hello, im new to 3CX :)

a couple of questions if i may?

if buy a 16 line system, do i need a 16 line IP phone for reception ? (actualy were only having 12 lines)
    Can you recommend anything for 12 lines, which needs PoE (power over ethernet)

is there a half decent priced hand held phone that works with 3CX - prefer PoE but it doesnt matter.

do u recommend a hardware firewall to run 3CX - i will have a couple of remote users using their cellphone with the app installed.

we are considering sugarCRM integration, would installing sugarCRM+php+mysql work on the same server as 3cx is going to be installed.

just checking, can i record EVERY call automaticaly ? i have the Professional version

2. seanc

also, is there any method to use an ordinary phone (a hands free phone in this case) with 3CX, any adapters/convertors?

3. leejor

leejor Well-Known Member

I can answer a few questions. Reception does not have to have a 16 line set unless they want a key that corresponds to each extension, to see if that extension is busy (BLF key). Many installations will make use of DID trunks, where an outside caller can dial direct to the extension, or use of the Digital receptionist. If you choose to use a single public number and have all calls ring reception first and are then transferred to an extension, then a set capable of displaying the status of each set, might be useful. there are a number that make use of add-ons to increase the key capacity. The set can also be tied to a PC for more functionality.