help new user

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by jmorley990, Jan 9, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jmorley990

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, i want to use the 3cx software,but i need a few things to get started. We have Panasonic phones and we never used IP before, so a few things

    1. if i use the softphone that is available, do i need a service provider like call centric or something? or how do i set up to make and receive calls on my laptop or desktop

    2. where on the software would i put my phone number, THE phone number given by the service provider and how do i get calls to get to the phone, i want to use call centric, it looks easy

    can it be used with the 3CX softphone? and not a actual IP phone

    ps. i be using this set up in my home office

    Jordan M
     
  2. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,368
    Likes Received:
    228
    Re: help new userq

    Do you mean to use just the 3CX softphone or set up a PBX with the 3CX PBX software? The Softphone will werk with most VoIp providers or with the 3CX PBX.

    Like the softphone, it will work with most VoIP providers (check that they support customer provided equipment first, some companies , like Vonage, can be difficult) or the 3CX PBX. If you've done you own work on a computer (changed out a hard drive from scratch, that sort of thing), then you can probably figure it out with some help from various (this one included) forums. A VoIP provider may offer assistance with the settings as well.

    Once you have been given the information from the provider and set up the softphone (read the guide) the phone will "register" with the provider letting it know where on the 'net you are and hence, where to send the calls.
     
  3. jmorley990

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    HI,
    well i want to use the PBX features. now i don't own a pbx,
    how do i set up the PBX on the 3cx to work with the softphone and call centric, where do i get the PBX ip number?

    like can i use the IP number of call centric or what do i need to do to set up the PBX features of the 3cx
    http://www.3cx.com/sip-phones/3cx-voip-phone.html what is the IP address for the pbx i would need to use to make and receive calls
     
  4. galal202

    galal202 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,
    At a computer called server install 3CXPhoneSystem
    configure this server to connect to callcentric

    then instal the soft phone at an number of pcs

    configure the server and this soft phones to connect together

    the caller ip will apear when ring on the soft phone or any ip phone
     
  5. jmorley990

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    i would be using this for a home user, i have xp and win7, and would it be possible to have it like PC to PC calling for around the house...with the computer softphone

    if i signed up for call centric tonight what next steps would i need to take
     
  6. mylove4life

    mylove4life New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    You will want to download the doc pdf and go from there. you will be able to install it and setup the phones and test between the 2 phones.
     
  7. jmorley990

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    question, will i need more than one number or can i get one number and just use extensions with each computer? like when i download the 3cx software, and the softphone on each, i have to create a extension for each but use CALL CENTRIC'S IP number, like whos ip address do i use
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.