Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

Help setting up from start (for an idiot)

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by dgaletar, Aug 2, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dgaletar

Hello,

I am new to this product and forum, so please be patient with me.

I am a small one-person business, trying to find an affordable solution that can grow with me. Friday, I had my cell phone number ported over to Callcentric, an Internet phone service provider. On Callcentrics' site, they suggest a number of PBX user agents. From what I have read thus far, 3CX seems to be the only one that does not require a dedicated server to run on (which is good, because I do not have one). To this point, I have downloaded the "3CXPhoneSystem71.exe" file and the "3CXAssistantSetup_71.exe" file.

This is where my stupidity kicks in!

Using this website (http://www.3cx.com/phone-system/download-links/), I completed the following steps:
    Download 3CX Phone System for Windows - FREE edition
    Version 7.1

* Step 1: Download the PBX Server
    3CX Phone System build v7.1.7139 (Approx. 40Mb)
    * Step 2: Download optional components
    3CX Assistant build v7.1.3438 - Desktop utility to manage calls, see user status and queues. Also includes Outlook and Salesforce integration
    3CX VoIP Phone build v3.8571 (Approx. 3 Mb) - Light weight VoIP phone
    * Step 3: Download Documentation

Lucky for me, Step 3 is a 72 page PDF! I won't lie to you, I read as much of it as I could before realizing that I was way in over my head.

As I was trying to figure out what I was doing, and where I was in the process, I realized that Callcenric offered a (very long) one page "how-to" for setting up 3CX with Callcentric (http://www.callcentric.com/support/device/3cx).