Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

Help with connecting 3CX soft phone to 3CX server

Discussion in 'Windows' started by Natural, May 10, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Natural

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Note: We are using the FREE version of 3CX.
    From the server console when running fire wall check everything passed. However for some reason the 3CX soft phone will not connect to the server. Under ports trunks status it says that its registered however it says that its idle. The soft phone does not connect even when not using a password. We tried connecting with an extension with default settings without password and still it will not connect. It just says connecting ... and never connects. We have entered our VOIP sip credentials according to the instructions. We appreciate any help we can get.

    Regards,
     
  2. Vali_3CX

    Vali_3CX Well-Known Member
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,526
    Likes Received:
    71
    Hi,
    It's quite ambiguous the environment you describe - please specify us your 3CX PBX version (it's displayed on management console login page) and 3CX phone version.

    Regards
    vali
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Natural

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    The PBX version is 7.1 and the soft phone is 3.1

    Thanks for any help you can provide us.
     
  4. Natural

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Could someone please help us get connected?
     
  5. Vali_3CX

    Vali_3CX Well-Known Member
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,526
    Likes Received:
    71
    Hi
    Still not enough informations to put a diagnostic :mrgreen:
    3CX Voip Phone has several 3.1.x releases, PBX has even more 7.1.x releases, and some of these "pairs" are not 100% compatible because of their tunnels, so I'm expecting such kind of issue.
    Can you provide a copy-paste of phone's debug window messages from start to connection failure? It does not dump alot of messages. If it refers some public IP, mask it with xx.xx.xx.xx

    Regards
    vali
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Natural

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is all it says in the debug window on the soft phone.

    Attempting to connect 207.69.131.10
    Using network interface 127.0.0.1
    Phone got as local port 62748
    RTP engine OK
    SIP engine OK
    Sound mic device OK
    Sound ring device OK
    Sound play device OK
     
  7. Vali_3CX

    Vali_3CX Well-Known Member
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,526
    Likes Received:
    71
    Hi again

    Well, since you provided the connection address, I've tried it on my phone to see in which situation I will get the same results as you - and I guess I've found it since it was only one: when the 207.69.131.10 (which is a public, internet address) has been set into "I am in the office - local IP" field, which is wrong.
    Being a public, internet address, 207.69.131.10 should be set into the "I am out of the office - extern IP" field.

    Try this and tell me if it works.

    Regards
    vali
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. Natural

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the reply,

    I am getting an error

    Server not responding...
     
  9. Vali_3CX

    Vali_3CX Well-Known Member
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,526
    Likes Received:
    71
    I've got the same one when I tested. Usually, in such situations, you have some handy checking tools at your disposal: system ping, tracert and a browser. In our case ping 207.69.131.10, tracert 207.69.131.10 and http://207.69.131.10/ failed (at least from my computer) so no wonder phone doesn't succeeded since it is based on the same networking support as these three tools. If you know the PBX's administrator, ask about its proper public address.

    Regards
    vali
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.