Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

Solved Hotdesking - STUN / Remote from Cloud PBX

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by pact, Dec 12, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pact

    pact New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    41
    Why is the Hotdesking feature not available to remote/cloud extensions?

    It works via Local or via SBC..

    It's just dial codes and re-provisioning is it not?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. eddv123

    eddv123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2017
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    186
    Hi pact,

    The only reason I can think (other than security) is the way in which a STUN extension is provisioned the SBC and local provisioning use plug & play where a STUN extension requires the RPS method with additional username and password login which will be taken from an existing extension.
     
    NickD_3CX likes this.
  3. pact

    pact New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    41
    Well we've just given it a shot via an SBC and the dial codes work, but the config does not push out to the phone.

    So we end up with a handset which thinks its logged out, but in 3CX is showing as unprovisioned and you cannot login or logout with it.

    So it again appears we cannot run hotdesking from a cloud instance.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. YiannisH_3CX

    YiannisH_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    7,341
    Likes Received:
    535
    Hello @pact

    For HotDesking to work you need to provision the phone through Plug and play, so you need the phones to be local or behind an SBC and assign them to an extension. If the phones are not assigned through Plug and play then HotDesking will not work.
     
  5. pact

    pact New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    41
    So you are suggesting Plug and Play adoption does something different to the phone getting it's config via DHCP Option 66?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. YiannisH_3CX

    YiannisH_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    7,341
    Likes Received:
    535
    Exactly: https://www.3cx.com/docs/hot-desking/
     
  7. bbaker73

    bbaker73 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    25
    I understand the different provisioning and why it wouldn't work with remote STUN phones, but if I change theses remote phones to SBC for hot desking, why are CTI features only possible with the web client and not the 3CX client for Windows? The web client does not yet provide the overview in one screen and ease of managing the calls, queues and extensions like the client for windows does, so it is not yet a replacement.
     
  8. bbaker73

    bbaker73 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    25
    Also, just my 2 cents, but more and more installs are going cloud and SBC is not always a viable option in all locations. Hopefully you guys will be looking at the future of how clients are going to installing more in the cloud and use remote STUN extensions, and adapt these features to work in those scenarios.
     
  9. StefanW

    StefanW Head of Customer Support and Training
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,222
    Likes Received:
    93
    We did and the pitfalls currently are to big to get a phone into a state where is it "lost" without admin recover action. From ext roaming onto a device which can not login from WAN to a device failing to optain the config. Hotdesking only makes sense if there is more then 5 devices in one location (in terms what HD should solve). And in this case an SBC is viable.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.