How can I do this?

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by MikeMelga, Jun 12, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MikeMelga

Hi.

I think I have the basics of 3CX covered.
    I've been using it for a couple of months with no major problems.

There are two things that I still haven't managed to do with 3CX and that I really need:

1 - The ability to notify an external application (running script, tcp communication....anything) of ALL incoming calls. I can do this with 3CX Myphone but only for calls to the extension set up. How can I do this for ALL calls?

2 - How can I set a prompt of a digital receptionist to an external application? I would like the ability to call an extension and, for example, be greeted with some option like "Press 1 to open gate, 2 to turn on the lights,....". To do this I need a way out of 3CX. Any ideas?

Thanks.

Regards,
    Mike

2. lneblett

lneblett Well-Known Member

You might take a look at the CDR output. This can be found in the settings, advanced section

As far as getting out of the 3CX system externally, you can always set a dummy extension and then have the extension dial an external number (or even a remote SIP endpoint, for that matter). The extension will exist within the DR possible responses, but because it is never really registered, the rule for an unregistered phone will kick in. The issue will be finding the device at the remote end that will auto-answer and then provide the actions you seek to include the interface to the device that you wish to control.

3. MikeMelga

lneblett,

Thanks for your reply.
    I will look into CDR output. From what I've seen I guess it will work for the call monitoring.

About the second item.... you completely lost me at some point. You suggest I dial another line?