How difficult is it to add an unsupported phone?

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by hogan71088, Dec 5, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hogan71088

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2015
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    3
    As above, is it a difficult process?
     
  2. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,375
    Likes Received:
    231
    It all depends on the device. Just because something isn't supported, doesn't mean it won't work...it is SIP after all, it's a "Standard", and any device that supports SIP should work (added...for "basic" features, at least) on 3CX.

    However, if the device is "unsupported" then there is probably no way to auto-provision (no template available in the PBX). Some manufacturers do supply their own 3CX compatible template on their sites, you'll have to check with them.

    Some devices can be configured with a GUI (menu). You'd take the settings that you used to build the extension in the PBX, log into the device, and configure it.

    Some devices can only be configured when they download a configuration file from a server, they have no ability to be configured manually.

    It all depends on what device we are talking about.
     
  3. AndreasP_3CX

    AndreasP_3CX New Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi

    Just to add and even if SIP is a "Standard" as Leejor advised this does not mean that the device will follow all of it to the letter. It all depends on the device, that is also one of the reasons why we advise to go for supported devices.

    Best regards
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Nick Galea

    Nick Galea Site Admin

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,889
    Likes Received:
    191
    Its not really a good idea to add an unsupported phone. When we add a new vendor to our supported list, we typically have our testing team literally spend weeks testing all functions, and usually many changes are required to the firmware to make it work perfectly. Then its "rinse and repeat" for every firmware.

    Considering our experience with SIP and working with vendors, and assuming you don't have weeks of time to throw out of the window, it just makes sense to stick to supported devices. Its not an issue of price, the cheapest IP Phones we support start from as low as $40
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. aberry

    aberry New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    7
    It's a game of roulette, because if X vendor launches a product that competes with 3CX, BAM instanly unsupported.
     
  6. icns01

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    5

    Well,coming from the 3CX CEO himself, that says a lot...

    The thing is as a 3CX reseller it would have really helped our sales effort if 3CX had better support for some of the more popular legacy SIP IP phones out there.

    For example, we could do a lot more business with former Nortel and Avaya BCM and even CS1000 customers who have tons of 1100 and 1200 series IP phones. Since 50% of the investment in a new phone system is in the sets, the 3CX would be a very attractive proposition if that installed base could work reliably (we know we may not get all the bells and whistles) after migration, until the next budget cycles when actual phones could be replaced.

    Avaya Nailed it when they wrote i support for the nortel phones on the Avaya IP Office...couldnt 3CX follow a similar strategy with the Nortel IP phones and even the Mitel 5200 and 4300 dual mode phones?

    This would be a win win win for customers, 3Cx and 3CX partners.
     
    Daniel Lent likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.