how to connect 4 spa3102 on 1 outbound rule?

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by kargo1977, Dec 2, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kargo1977

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everybody,

    i use spa3102 only for outgoing calls to pstn line, connected to it's line port. I use prefix 21 in outbound rule so my sip extensions can exit on pstn line.

    I bought 3 more spa3102 with an idea to have more concurrently calls over pstn lines.

    Now the problem, there are only 3 routes in outbound rule (that uses prefix 21). Is there a way to use the same prefix for 4 simultaneous calls?

    I have 3cx server ver. 9.something

    Thank you
     
  2. KerryG

    KerryG Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would have suggested a Patton 4114 instead of 4 SPA3102s because of the 3 trunk limitation.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. kargo1977

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    so there is no way to have 1 prefix for more than 3 pstn lines?
     
  4. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,872
    Likes Received:
    304
    One 3102= one trunk, that can't be changed. That is why there are multi trunk gateways available and why they are recommended if you think you will be going beyond just a couple of PSTN trunks.
     
  5. eagle2

    eagle2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,085
    Likes Received:
    11
    You may duplicate the outbound rule (same prefix) and include other lines, still 1 line = 1 SPA3102.
    The only problem is you can't achieve load balancing, even there were only 3 SPAs or other multiline gateway, i.e. the first line will be used mostly, which could be a problem, if you have free minutes with the provider, etc.

    Regards
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,872
    Likes Received:
    304
    If you lived in a location with multiple area codes or, even prefixes, you could create outbound rules dividing the calls that way.
     
  7. kargo1977

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, i've just created another rule for the same prefix and routed the calls to the other spa3012 box, but when i try to make second call with the same prefix i get this message in Server Activity Log:
    "There are no available outbound lines on gateway spa3102 at this time"
    which is the first spa box, so it means that the server didn't route the second call right.
    Maybe i missed something, i've created the second rule exactly as the first one, off course, with only difference in "Route" parameter.
     
  8. eagle2

    eagle2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,085
    Likes Received:
    11
    This is the idea. I'll try to replicate it. I did something similar some time ago. Meanwhile which version of 3CX you are using (there are some changes in recent SP4 in this relation) ?

    Otherwise you may try and achieve even a kind of load balancing by dividing the extensions in 4 groups - A,B,C,D. Extensions from group A may use lines 1,2,3 (in this priority). Those from B - 2,3,4; from C - 3,4,1; from D - 4,1,2. You need to define 4 outbound rules fo the purpose. This should work with sure and is probably better as approach (otherwise you will use line 1 mostly).

    Regards.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. kargo1977

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for quick response, i have version 9.0.15781..... installed as a server.
    I tried something similar to your idea, only difference is to divide whole bunch of prefixes into few groups, instead of the extensions.
    I'll think a little bit more about this grouping of prefixes, but doubling the same rule would solve the more than 3 routes problem!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.