How to get the phonebook working for SPA50xG phones in 3CX?

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by rkboers, Sep 25, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rkboers

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well this is a question I am currently working on and I saw a couple of posts clearly indicating it is possible to use the cisco_phonebook.xml file linked with a provisioned Phone. It has to work (that I am sure of)
    Sadly the SPA502G and SPA504G phones we are using are only capable of reading 32 max numbers from the phonebook file. Or else the Phone can't find the cisco_phonebook.xml file at all!

    Further info: Situation is explained in below link from another forum.
    https://supportforums.cisco.com/thread/2064904

    Sadly we got more than the 32 numbers that the phones are capable of. So how can I change the phonebook file to get it to work. Or how can I change the provisioning file for the SPA504G Phone so it shows the first 32 numbers and with a button on the Phone I can jump to page 2 or something or can we scroll to another phonebook or something?

    Or does anyone got a good idea how to deal with this......?
     
  2. harrisonf123

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: How to get the phonebook working for SPA50xG phones in 3

    I am using the same phones as you and if you add the numbers into the company phone book in 3CX under settings company phone book this seems to work and doesn't have a limit that I've noticed, also works for identifying incoming calls.
     
  3. rkboers

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: How to get the phonebook working for SPA50xG phones in 3

    Well that is one way to do it but with around 200 numbers I'd rather do it with provisioning. There should be a good way to get it in there through that way.

    But to be honest if you gonna punch in every number even more than 32 in your personal directory it works.....???!!!! Making it even harder to accept that it isn't possible.
     
  4. StefanW

    StefanW Head of Customer Support and Training
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,198
    Likes Received:
    79
    Re: How to get the phonebook working for SPA50xG phones in 3

    for cisco it is not the amoungt of entries it is the file size as silly as it sounds.
    if your tbook is <=1024 bite okey if it is >1024 u see nothing...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. rkboers

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: How to get the phonebook working for SPA50xG phones in 3

    Got the cisco_phonebook.xml at 21 KB so got it doubled to what is needed. Any way to split that xml file in two parts and link some buttons underneath it...?
     
  6. pj3cx

    pj3cx Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    1
    Re: How to get the phonebook working for SPA50xG phones in 3

    Hi all,
    Please check v12.5 RC for new cisco phonebook server which gets rid of limitations in memory and max num of entries.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. rkboers

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: How to get the phonebook working for SPA50xG phones in 3

    Thanks, looks like a sollution. Will try it out next month when the company is completly closes so I can start updating to V12.5. We are still on v 11 but with enough servicepacks available for V12 it looks like the product is good enough to upgrade.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.