How to Handle Extension Misdials

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by mantalope, Jun 21, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mantalope

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do I set up the Digital Receptionist to NOT hang up if an extension is dialed incorrectly?

    For example, if a caller tries to dial an extension that does not exist, the system plays a prompt indicating that the extension does not exist (which is good), but then it disconnects the call. I want to change it so that if an extension is dialed incorrectly, 3CX will restart the digital receptionist instead of hanging up. Can someone point me in the right direction here? It is probably a simple thing to configure.
     
  2. KerryG

    KerryG Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just tested mine and if I misdial an extension it says "call transfer failed" and goes back to the digital receptionist. I dont believe I ever made any change to enable this.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. nbailey

    nbailey Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    0
    Probably because as far as I can tell there are no changes to allow this. I get the same message Kerry, Mantalope I can double check tomorrow in the office but something can't be right in your setup.

    Regards,
    Nate
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. mantalope

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    On my system, when an incoming call dials an extension that does not exist, it tells me "your call cannot be completed at this time" and then hangs up. I don't know why it behaves differently on my system.
     
  5. KerryG

    KerryG Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    0
    What does the server activity log show when that happens?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. mantalope

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Server Activity Log is below after dialing an unassigned extension (299)

    16:24:35.216 [CM503007]: Call(151): Device joined: sip:xxx@208.73.146.95:5060
    16:24:35.204 [CM505003]: Provider:[Nextiva] Device info: Device Not Identified: User Agent not matched; Capabilities:[reinvite, replaces, able-no-sdp, recvonly] UserAgent: [] PBX contact: [sip:xxx:5060]
    16:24:35.204 [CM503002]: Call(151): Alerting sip:xxx@208.73.146.95:5060
    16:24:34.724 [CM503025]: Call(151): Calling VoIPline:299@(Ln.10000@Nextiva)@[Dev:sip:xxx@208.73.146.95:5060]
    16:24:34.666 [CM503004]: Call(151): Route 2: VoIPline:299@(Ln.10001@SkypeConnect)@[Dev:sip:xxx@sip.skype.com:5060]
    16:24:34.666 [CM503004]: Call(151): Route 1: VoIPline:299@(Ln.10000@Nextiva)@[Dev:sip:xxx@208.73.146.95:5060]
    16:24:34.664 [CM503010]: Making route(s) to <sip:299@127.0.0.1:5060>
    16:24:34.395 Currently active calls - 1: [151]
    16:24:27.733 [CM503007]: Call(151): Device joined: sip:950@127.0.0.1:40600;rinstance=d14de6fdee7d26bc

    It looks like it is trying to call out on my SIP Trunk lines.
     
  7. KerryG

    KerryG Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looks like a problem with your outbound rules.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. davecra

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same issue ;(
    invalid extensions dialed will just disconnect, instead of returning to DR.
    Any ideas? Server log below...

    08:56:13.022 [CM503008]: Call: Call is terminated
    08:56:12.388 [CM503016]: Call: Attempt to reach <sip:5555@127.0.0.1:5060> failed. Reason: Not Found
    08:56:12.388 [CM503014]: Call: No known route to target: <sip:5555@127.0.0.1:5060>
    08:56:12.386 [CM503010]: Making route(s) to <sip:5555@127.0.0.1:5060>
    08:56:06.285 [MS211000] C:14.1: 208.73.146.95:51546 is delivering DTMF using RTP payload (RFC2833). In-Band DTMF tone detection is disabled for this call segment.
    08:55:52.188 [CM503007]: Call(): Device joined: sip:8000@127.0.0.1:40600;rinstance=bca8c22f598a15ee
    08:55:52.184 [CM503007]: Call(): Device joined: sip:442453505@sbc.voipdnsservers.com:5060
    08:55:52.176 [CM505001]: Ext.8000: Device info: Device Identified: [Man: 3CX Ltd.;Mod: 3CX IVR;Rev: General] Capabilities:[reinvite, replaces, able-no-sdp, recvonly] UserAgent: [3CX IVR] PBX contact: [sip:8000@127.0.0.1:5060]
    08:55:52.175 [CM503002]: Call(): Alerting sip:8000@127.0.0.1:40600;rinstance=bca8c22f598a15ee
    08:55:52.029 [CM503025]: Call(): Calling Ext:Ext.8000@[Dev:sip:8000@127.0.0.1:40600;rinstance=bca8c22f598a15ee]
    08:55:51.995 [CM503004]: Call(): Route 1: Ext:Ext.8000@[Dev:sip:8000@127.0.0.1:40600;rinstance=bca8c22f598a15ee]
    08:55:51.994 [CM503010]: Making route(s) to <sip:8000@172.xx.xx.xx:5060>
     
  9. nbailey

    nbailey Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    0
    same with you Dave, it seems you have an issue with outbound rules.

     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. mantalope

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you. I had an outbound rule that was a "catch all" to prioritize our SIP Trunk providers. When I removed the catch all rule, the mis-dials routed back to the digital attendant.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.