• V20: 3CX Re-engineered. Get V20 for increased security, better call management, a new admin console and Windows softphone. Learn More.

How to use Cisco 7940 linex_displaname as Caller ID

Status
Not open for further replies.

Enoch

Customer
Reaction score
I'm completely new to 3CX. I have been task with configuring our new 3CX to work with our existing Cisco 7940 phones. So I have all the basic setup. Now for the "fun" stuff...

This new phone system is going to be used to support calls for 3 different companies (not the problem IVRs already set). But each one of our staff will have to make outgoing calls as well and in most cases will only need to use the caller ID from 2 of the 3 companies (which works for the 7940 as it only has 2 lines to choose from). So in the phone provision template for the Cisco 7940 i have the following settings for the two lines:

#Line 1 Setting
line1_name: "%%extension_number%%"
line1_authname: "%%extension_auth_id%%"
line1_displayname: "Comany A 604-555-1234"
line1_password: "%%extension_auth_pw%%"
line1_shortname: "Company A"

#Line 2 Setting
line2_name: "%%extension_number%%"
line2_authname: "%%extension_auth_id%%"
line2_displayname: "Company B 604-555-5678"
line2_password: "%%extension_auth_pw%%"
line2_shortname: "Company B"

How can we use the line1_displayname and line2_displayname in 3CX as the Outbound Caller ID when a specific line is selected?

Outgoing caller ID can be changed (customized) in the 3CX extension settings (sending a number that is specific to that extension), or in the trunk settings (sending one number out, on the whole group, no matter who places the call).

This working, all relies on your provider allowing it, some do, some don't. Many providers will allow the number to be changed but don't allow a name to be sent. It you haven't yet confirmed how this works with your provider, you may want to do so before spending more time on this.