HT812 - Any Suggestions how to get started

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by Mark Thompson, Apr 16, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Mark Thompson

Hi All

I have a Grand Stream HT812. Im quite desperate to try and get it working in 3cx. I realize its not officially supported but a lot of google sees suggestions (But no answers) that it is possible to manually configure this.

How do i go about doing so? Just making receiving calls would be great.

So far ive tried:
    1.)Add an Extension in 3CX.

2.) Configure the HT812 to use the 3CX ip as sip server and provided username and password as given for authentication with phones in the Extensions details.

The HT812 just sits at Not registered. Im new to 3CX so would appreciate any suggestions.

Thanks in advance.

2. craigreilly

craigreilly Well-Known Member

Local LAN or in the cloud?
    If cloud - SBC or Direct Connection?

Do you see any connection attempt in the log files?

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Mark Thompson

Cloud hosted on ovh and direct connection. I have never set up a SBC. If it makes things easier though I will. any pointers?

Will take a look in the logs and get back to you.

Thanks.

4. eddv123

eddv123 Active Member

The only way to get this working across an SBC (and this is un-supported FYI) is to point the registrar address of the device at the SBC itself (and not 3CX) this will funnel the connection down the SBC.

The easiest installation as far as SBC is concerned is the Windows version:
    https://www.3cx.com/phone-system/download-links/

But Raspberry Pi I prefer as you only need a Pi device to run it and not dedicate a full Windows machine and licence and they are around £50/$79 on Amazon: https://www.3cx.com/docs/3cx-sbc-raspberry-pi/

You can acquire these pre-loaded from some 3CX Distributors also dependent on where you are based: https://www.electronicfrontier.co.uk/raspberry-pi-for-3cx-sbc/

5. Mark Thompson