Huge need for larger supported ATA

Discussion in 'Ideas' started by ATGNick, Jan 18, 2018.

Huge need for larger supported ATA 5 5 8votes
5/5, 8 votes

Tags:
  1. ATGNick

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    We have many cases where clients have a large number of analog phones (hundreds) and using roughly fifty 4port ATAs obviously doesn't work. There needs to be a larger fully supported ATA for these cases.

    Thank you!
    Nick
     
    Adam Hawks likes this.
  2. Adam Hawks

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    I agree with you, Nick. Since WellTech has discontinued their 24 port ATA, there is no longer an ATA supported by 3CX that is larger than 4 ports.
     
    ATGNick likes this.
  3. 3CXDude

    3CXDude New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    26
    Agreed, patton 24FXS was supported up to 12.5
     
  4. jhogue1975

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    3
    Any news on a solution for this yet? I have a customer with 58 IP phones and 13 Analog sets and I need to support their analog phones without buying (4) 4 port ATA's.
     
  5. narkumas

    narkumas New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    29
    Wouldn't it be cheaper to replace the analog phones? The customer would also have benefit of all IP features...
     
    Brad Cann likes this.
  6. shenwei

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    4
  7. Brad Allison

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2017
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    18
  8. Brad Cann

    Brad Cann New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    15
    Agreed.

    Why would you spend hundreds if not thousands on ATA's when for the same price, hell less on the second hand market would get you a supported IP phone?
     
  9. Brad Allison

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2017
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    18
    Concept check: A hotel with hundreds of analog extensions for their rooms benefits by replacing their hundreds of room phones for VoIP phones in what way and at what cost?

    Any idea how much it costs to recable a hotel for VoIP?

    Its not as easy to say "same price" when you are talking "hundreds of extensions" when your cabling is all CAT3. The ActivReach or PoLRE could help alleviate cabling costs to allow a faster transition to a more complete VoIP deployment.


    I'm a strong advocate for getting rid of everything analog within reason.
     
  10. Brad Cann

    Brad Cann New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    15
    Then that hotel is likely as old as the hills, and obviously there are edge case scenarios where this won''t work or be financially ... tricky. In Australia almost all sparkies/data cablers changed over to using Cat5 for telco cabling decades ago as it was way cheaper then cat3 a long time ago.

    Like i said there will be edge cases where it is more a financial decision, sometimes its better to bite the bullet and just wear the cost of new stuff as opposed to maintaining legacy gear, that is a decision every business has to make at some point in time. I still think that short of the cabling issues your going to waste more money on legacy half options over time then just doing it right and cabling for the future....

    I might also add, in the days of mobile phones being dirt cheap, and call rates on mobiles often being a lot cheaper then what a hotel charges, does the use case even support maintaining a fleet of phones in a hotel? I'm almost guessing the power costs alone on the PBX are more then you bring in on call rates for the hotel.
     
  11. Brad Allison

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2017
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    18
    I don't disagree with anything you just said.
     
  12. Silly English Kniggit

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2017
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    84
    I've been told that Grandstream are coming back into supported - however that may be wrong.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    ATGNick likes this.