Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

Hyper-V Live Migration Drops License Key

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by beaton, Aug 4, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. beaton

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Description of the environment

    We are running 3CX V10 SP2 Commercial Edition.

    We have decided to try and move our installation into a 2 node Hyper-V Failover cluster. Both nodes are running Hyper-V Server 2008. Node 1 is the box we plan to use in production. Node 2 is only being used to prove the concept and will be replaced with a box identical to node 1 in the production environment. Node 2 (Dual Core 2GB RAM) is significantly different from Node 1 (Dual Quad Core 32GB RAM).

    The VM is running Windows Server 2008 R2 Standard and has been given 4GB RAM and 2 Cores. We enabled the “Migrate to a physical computer with a different processor version” for testing but this will not be checked in production.)

    We are using a Fixed Size VHD that is stored on a Cluster Shared Volume, the machine configuration files are also stored on a Cluster Shared Volume. We are using FreeNAS to host the iSCSI disks but we will be using a Dell MD3000i in production.

    Description of the problem

    When we do a live migration from one node to the other our product key is lost and the software converts back to the Free edition. Besides that live migration works great. We have tested with live phone calls and it works perfectly – I still smile every time we do a successful live migration test. :D

    I suspect 3CX is doing a hardware hash and notices different hardware which deactivates the key. When we re-enter the key it works fine again.

    My Question

    Is anyone aware of a workaround?
    Will this problem go away once Node 1 and Node 2 have the same hardware configuration?

    Thank-you for any help you might be able to provide!
     
  2. eagle2

    eagle2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,085
    Likes Received:
    11
    Hi,

    as far as I read and understood the 3CX licensing policy, you are allowed to backup the configuration, uninstall the 3CX Phonesystem, install it (or a newer version) on a new machine, restore the configuration and enter the license key again. This should not constitute a license breach.

    Regards
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. chrischevy

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.