Iinstalling 3cx on a virtualized machine.

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by MichaelD, Apr 3, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MichaelD

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unless I am missing something, I have to wonder why there is posted on this site instructions on how to Set up a Hyper-V virtual server instance for 3CX PBX.

    After all the time I spent installing Windows Server 2008, and setting up a virtual instance, I discover that Hyper-V virtual servers do not support audio, except via RDP back to the host machine. That seems useless, as a remote desktop connection has to be running at all times.

    So, why does 3CX post these instructions?

    What am I missing?

    MichaelD
     
  2. kkuhar

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Wasting time installing 3cx on a virtualized machine.

    For me works like a charm. I use Windows server 2008 Std R2 as a virtualized guest running on 2008 Enterprise R2

    You have to enable the ‘Desktop Experience’ role

    http://www.3cx.com/blog/docs/hyper-v-instance/

    Regards,
    Karlo
     
  3. MichaelD

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Wasting time installing 3cx on a virtualized machine.

    Hello Karlo. Thanks for the reply.

    I did enable Desktop Experience. The problem is that virtual machine has no audio hardware installed, and I don't see a way attach to the audio hardware in the host machine.

    On your virtual machine, look in the device manager under sound. Do you have something listed there?

    MichaelD
     
  4. kkuhar

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Wasting time installing 3cx on a virtualized machine.

    I just checked and found no sound devices. Why do you need them anyway?
    What's bothering you? I don't get it.
     
  5. MichaelD

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Wasting time installing 3cx on a virtualized machine.

    The 3cx setup instructions say that audio has to play, without prompts, on the machine upon which the PBX is installed. It can't do that without audio hardware.

    Maybe the PBX works fine without local audio playback capability?

    MichaelD
     
  6. Nick Galea

    Nick Galea Site Admin

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,936
    Likes Received:
    250
    Re: Wasting time installing 3cx on a virtualized machine.

    No local audio hardware needs to be installed - your PBX will work fine.

    The Skype gateway requires local audio hardware but quite frankly i recommend using a SIP provider instead and if you still wish to use Skype installing it on a separate machine.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. MichaelD

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Wasting time installing 3cx on a virtualized machine.

    Great news, thanks!

    MichaelD
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.