I'm looking for a solution...

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by subh, Dec 4, 2007.

  1. subh

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi...


    I want this:

    PSTN --> FXO --> 3CX -- IVR --> FXO --> PSTN

    Is it possible?

    TIN
     
  2. miraportuga

    miraportuga Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    0
    It should be possible yes, but you need to have more then 1 PSTN Line....

    Cheers
     
  3. Ralph

    Ralph Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good morning

    Currently we have only used 3CX for VoIP connections. 3CX does have the ability to connect to PSTN as well.

    As far as using it for strictly PSTN I would imagine that you can do that. The best option would be to download the free version to test it out.

    Anyone using 3CX for PSTN only??

    Best of luck,
     
  4. archie

    archie Well-Known Member
    3CX Staff

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,309
    Likes Received:
    0
    We're using for PSTN only :)
     
  5. AldoLinares

    AldoLinares New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    We have 4 PSTN lines 1 VoIP Inphonex and it's working since installed.

    The migration from our Panasonic PBX was like 1 hour
     
  6. asfuture

    asfuture New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes
    with the trial you can test it. is very important what kind of voice gateways you want to use. and also very important are call progress tones from your contry.
     
  7. subh

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there...

    Thnaks for your replies. :)

    Have some more queries:

    1. Which brands/models of PSTN->FXO cards do you use? We have DTMF Caller-ID in India. So, we would prefer to have a board which supports DTMF Caller-ID.

    2. For inter-city call transfers, can I use free sip services like FWD? Will the 3cx softphone work with FWD? Or, can you please suggest the best compatible sip service?

    3. I could not get the details of IVR that comes with 3cx in the site. Does the free version includes that IVR? How many levels can it go? Can it play recorded messages or only TTS can be played back?

    Thanks in advance....
     
  8. asfuture

    asfuture New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    a lot of qestions. i'll try to give some answers.
    1. we use active voice devices
    2. if you use 3cx ip pbx server then it will work.
    3. i have a system that goes 4 levels down. it's working perfectly. No other systeem (Voxtro, Agile etc etc) works like this.
     
  9. RobLloyd

    RobLloyd Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    0
    PSTN Cards are not supported w/ Windows/3CX. They recommend seperate devices.

    Grandstream, AudioCodes and Patton and also Linksys are all used w/ 3CX. Grandstream, AudioCodes and Patton are recommended over Linksys for quality and support. They also cost a lot more than Linksys.

    If you install 3CX click on the Lines button and click PSTN. You will see a list of templates of recommended and tested models. If you stray from that list then you're on your own so to speak.
     
  10. subh

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi...

    Sorry to bother you guys again...

    I'm little confused...through which board shall I connect analog POTS line to the computer?

    Can you please explain with exact model names those work?

    TIN
     
  11. asfuture

    asfuture New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    it's not a problem. anybody has to learn.
    on this link you can find what kind of hw do you need: http://www.3cx.com/support/index.html
     
  12. webguyz

    webguyz New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Subh,

    Any SIP device that supports FXO port. If you do a Google of FXO and ATA and Grandstream, or Linksys, or Patton your find a number of devices that will connect your POTS line via SIP protocol to 3CX. There is no one perfect brand as all have varying levels of success in different situations. You might try the Grandstream products as they are inexpensive and I've had good luck with them.
     
  13. 5qg4

    5qg4 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    0
    If using Patton FXO gateway. You may be lost the DTMF caller-ID decode when have incoming calls. Since it support Bellcore and ETSI only. Grandstream can support wide range caller id type. For sound quality, Patton should be the best.

    All above comment are my personal testing result. I'm totally agree with "Webguyz".
     

Share This Page