Implementing 3CX in Motel Environment with Analog Lines

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by kwriley87, Jan 24, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kwriley87

Hi all

I have about 5+ years of experience with Asterisk platforms such as FreePBX, Elastix, PIAF, and I have previous experience with 3CX as well.

We have a new customer that has a motel with 36 rooms. This is the typical 2 story motel building model, where there is already analog lines ran to each room, and no ability to run new network cabling to the rooms (due to lack of ceiling space to run cable, the fact you'd have to punch a bunch of holes in drywall, etc).

They are wanting a new phone system and after doing some research, I would love to be able to implement 3CX in their environment with the 3CX Hotel Module.

Since most of my experience is with SIP trunks, I don't have much knowledge at all with analog phone systems and how to use existing analog lines to connect to an Asterisk or 3CX server. Of course I have done this on a smaller scale in the past with hooking up credit card machines and fax machines to ATA adapters but that's about it. I believe this can be done with using some larger analog gateways, but I'm just not sure on what I'm getting myself into and what would be required.

Can anyone shed some light on this subject for me?

Thanks!

#1 kwriley87, Jan 24, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2017
  2. dan_tx