Incoming Audio configuration

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by mattx, Apr 14, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mattx

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Everyone,

    I love the 3CX software management and organization.
    It is unfortunately that we are still experiencing major problems that stops our company of fully switching to 3CX.

    I ironed out most of the problems except for 1 major one.

    Problem:
    - Crackling, Distortion audio with partially voice audio during a call.

    Scenario:
    - A client calls and after 30 seconds in the call the audio starts to screw up with interference, distortion and crackling noises which makes it impossible to understand the client. The client on the other hand is not experiencing this at all.
    It seems to be an internal problem.
    - This does not happen with every call but it could happen (not 100% accurate) when dailing cellphones or when more people are calling into our system.

    System Setup
    - Bell Highspeed Internet Connection including Speedster Modem
    - Dlink Router DI-524 with ports open on Firewall
    - Windows Server 2003 SP2 with Firewall disabled
    - 3CX 5.1.4393.0
    - Dlink Switch (to connect the phones to the server)
    - Aastra 9133I SIP phones (x12)

    I really hope somebody has experience with this issue and would like to share his knowledge with us.

    Many thanks in advance,

    Matt
     
  2. Nick Galea

    Nick Galea Site Admin

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,888
    Likes Received:
    190
    Incoming audio is dependent on the VOIP provider or VOIP Gateway or Internet connection that you are using. You do not detail how you receive calls - the most important piece of information......
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. mattx

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    We are using Bell Highspeed Ultra Internet Connection dedicated for the Phoneserver
    - 6Mbps download speed
    - 800 Kbps upload speed

    We are using 2 VoIP providers for a testing scenario:
    - Nuovotel which has been great during our Asterisk time switched us over to SIP
    - Easyphoneoffice / EnhancedVoIP

    Both are resulting in the distortion problems on our end after a minute or so on the phone
     
  4. Nick Galea

    Nick Galea Site Admin

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,888
    Likes Received:
    190
    Hi,

    You can try switching off the option 'PBX delivers audio', in the provider configuration > other options, providing your provider properly supports Re-invites. If you do that, all audio will pass directly from VOIP provider to phone bypassing 3CX once the connection is setup.

    By far the easier option is to use a supported provider.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. mattx

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    PBX Delivery was turned off on all lines, I will try turning it ON, maybe it will make a difference, what exactly does this feature do?
     
  6. archie

    archie Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    0
    If it was off it means 3CX didn't take part in audio delivery, so you should check your phones and network. Though, turning it on might improve overall performance, because our Media Server is quite good in smoothing audio traffic.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. mattx

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    As discussed I enabled all the settings and It ran great for a week or so.
    Today we made a call and after 3 minutes the audio started chopping again, almost like somebody was drowning.
    It is rare but it still happens so once in a while.

    Maybe we don't have enough RAM, or its another QoS issue, please advice.

    Server Specs:
    AMD Athlon XP 1800+
    1.53GHz
    1 GB RAM
     
  8. mattx

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there a retailer or support team or anybody, we can pay who could resolve this issue.
    It is a beautiful setup but the random chopping issue is a real big problem for us.

    Let us know who we can call for help & support.
     
  9. h2009

    h2009 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    0
    It sounds like its your provider more than anything. Which codec are you using?
    Does this problem occur when the internet is being used?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. mattx

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Clients who call us don't notice the chopping issue, only us, its a one way thing.

    We have 2 providers and it happens with both.
    Easyofficephone
    Nuovotel

    We are located in Canada and use G.711 U-law

    The internet is dedicated to the phone server, no other activity takes place.
     
  11. ecwilson

    ecwilson New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Today we made a call and after 3 minutes the audio started chopping again, almost like somebody was drowning

    From this secenario it sound like a bandwidth issue & we had the same problems when
    testing the system on a comcast cable modem. Once we moved from consumer internet
    connections our main problem was gone. One call will need 128k of upload speed at all
    times & if there is any bandwidth problems along the path it sound like someone blowing
    bubbles in a bath tub. Do you know when your providers sip server is??? Do you know what
    route your packets take to get there??? Also we have a test server if you wish to do some
    testing outside of your office setup???

    ecwilson
     
  12. mattx

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    The problem seems to be reoccuring once in a while.

    We have Bell Business Ultra Highspeed Internet.
    6Mbps down / 800Kbps up
    (dedicated line)

    We would like a specialist to come into our office and consulate us on our setup and hopefully tell us what the problem is.
    We are willing to pay for it. We are located in Toronto, Canada.
     
  13. ecwilson

    ecwilson New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    We would perfer to do some testing on a outside
    server before we come take a look at your setup.

    ecwilson
     
  14. mattx

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also,

    I would like to point out that our current scenario worked great with Asterisk installed but once we switched to 3CX those waterbubble events started happening. We are willing to provide a specialist with login information to our server to analyse the problem. We would like to know if this is an option in order to resolve the issuse.
     
  15. mattx

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Update to the problem!

    The problem keeps occurring although less than before this could be due to the fact that not alot of calls are being made since everybody in our company is scared of getting the water bubble scenario.

    We have another idea where the issue might be.

    Old Scenario
    Modem->Router->Switch->PBX
    Modem->Router->Switch->Phones

    New Scenario
    Modem->Router->PBX
    Modem->Router->Switch->Phones

    Hopefuly taking out the switch might improve the scenario

    I would like to know if the Modem->Router->Switch->PBX scenario could have caused the issue!?

    Thank you so much

    Matt
     
  16. ecwilson

    ecwilson New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is the normal setup & this way everything talks to each other.
    The bubbles sound still sound like a bandwidth issue some where.
    How many calls can you place at the same time before the bubbles
    comes back??? Have you done a speed test on your line???

    Normal Scenario
    Modem->Router->Switch->PBX
    Modem->Router->Switch->Phones

    ecwilson
     
  17. mattx

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Problems are still remaining.
    It is embarrising to continue to use this software without getting pointed in the proper direction of fixing this issue.
    I can't purchase this software before getting it properly working first.

    Is any company available for consulting or installation revising?
     
  18. SY

    SY Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    2
    Sorry, but it is very difficult to provide help basing only on verbal description.
    Few hints:
    1. Technical manual describes types of media server (RTP) connections.
    - "RTP connection mode" is specified on the Server Status page (Medium verbosity of log) for each call. "Troubleshouting" section of technical manual provides additional information about log entries
    2. If RTP connection is established in "by pass mode" (see 1) ) than it is definitelly network related issue
    3. If RTP connection is established in "proxy" or "transcoding" mode then:
    a) network problem (see 2) )
    b) PBX host is busy with background tasks (scheduled tasks, antivirus etc.) or has completelly poor performance (some kind of virtual machine is in use and it is not VMWare server)

    Regards

    P.S. Do You use eyeBeam (one of the latest) to verify quality of audio?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. Nick Galea

    Nick Galea Site Admin

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,888
    Likes Received:
    190
    From what i can see you are using unsupported/untested VOIP providers.You must use a supported VOIP providers. However if PBX delivers audio is off, then all audio delivery is between your phone and the VOIP provider and its technically impossible for 3CX to be causing any 'bubbles' as you put it.

    Please note that specialists are forum users, not 3CX staff. If you need commercial level support then you would need to get a 3CX support package and license.

    I understand that you want to buy when its all working, but setting up a VOIP PBX requires working with several components; VOIP providers, phones, network devices and so on. We can not guide you thru to configuration of each on the premise that you will then buy the software. Its not economically viable for us. Thanks for your understanding.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. mattx

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Everyone,

    It has been a while, but I have been through weeks of testing and this was the problem:

    A Hardware Failure!
    The system I used caused the audio problem, maybe because there wasn't enough RAM or the processor was unstable.

    Faulty Specs:
    AMD Athlon XP 1800
    1GB of RAM

    Currently using a Dual Core 2.33Ghz & 3GB of RAM and it works like a charm.
    It is amazing how hardware could have caused this interesting freaky issues.

    Thanks again for all your support!

    Matt
    A Loyal 3CX Member!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.