Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

Incoming Calls - 2 PSTN 2 VOIP Line Configuration Question

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by cnguyen, Jul 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cnguyen

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having problems with multiple incoming phone calls working properly...
    I performed test calls into the office main # from 4 different cell phones. I was able to get 2 calls in ( ring the group, then placed on hold). The 3rd call into the office just kept on ringing, same with 4th call.

    Environment Setup:
    3CX Version: 3.1 Beta 3.0.2328.0
    4 Aastra 55i Phones (Extensions 100 -> 103)
    Grandstream GXW-4104

    PSTN1: 617-777-1111 (main number / Incoming Only)
    PSTN2: 617-777-1112 (Incoming / Out Going)
    VOIP1: 617-777-1113 (Incoming / Out Going)
    VOIP2: 617-777-1114 (Incoming / Out Going)

    Ring Group: Ext 888 (all 4 phones are part of the group); open office hrs.
    Digital Receptionist: Ext 777; only responds during closed hours.

    All calls are coming in on the main #.

    Some questions I have are:

    1. Do I need to enable "Bind to Meda Server" for each extension created?

    2. On the Grandstream/ Channels page/ Phone Number Settings Section: I only have 2 entries (since I only have 2 pstn lines); do i have to add entries for VOIP 1 and 2 Internal SIP User ID and Authenticate ID ?

    3. Since I only want the main number to receive incoming calls, how does 3cx handle this?; So that incoming calls are received and distributed to available lines (1pstn and 2voip) so that the main # is not tied up...; or how does this work?

    4. Is it possible to configure the L1, L2, L3, L4 buttons on the Aastra phones to correspond directly to the 4 available lines (617-777-1111 through 617-777-1113, respectively)?... ie Some one calls in and Ext 100 answers on L2, places call on hold ; Person at extension 101 could press L2 and answer the call on hold.

    This would be an ideal setup for most of my client offices...

    Thanks in advance for any replies!
     
  2. DaKhalli

    DaKhalli New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Incoming Calls - 2 PSTN 2 VOIP Line Configuration Questi

    hope this information will help you a bit and is correct, please let anyone bang my headagainst a wall if not :D
     
  3. SY

    SY Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    2
    Read manual.

    Each RTP connection requires 2 UDP ports. Configure "Ports to use for external calls" on General Settings page (and open it on your firewall if necessary) to receive calls as many as you want
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. cnguyen

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, I over looked that in the manual....

    But will this help if the main number for the office is a PSTN line connected to the Grandstream? I'm trying to understand how the calls come in and are distributed between PSTN & VOIP...

    1. Call comes in on main # (pstn 1) connected to grandstream, then forward to ring group.
    2. User 1 at extension 100 picks up call. line 1 pstn is occupied.
    3. Call 2 comes in on main #, ring group rings all phones.
    4. User 2 at extension 101 picks up call. line 2 pstn is occupied.
    5. Call 3 comes in on main #, Caller hears the phone ring, but ring group never rings and 3cx server does not recognize or see the call.

    I'm starting to think that this is not possible.??? I'm trying different things and retesting the scenario above...

    I tried to enable "bind to server" for all extensions, but that resulted in the calls being dropped after 15secs of being picked up and placed on hold...

    20:00:31.187 MediaServerReporting::RTPSender [MS004000] Call(7) Ext.101: (ACTIVE): Can't send RTP stream to 0.0.0.0:3000 destination unreachable
    20:00:22.218 CallLegImpl::eek:nConnected [CM103001] Call(7): Created audio channel for Ext.101 (192.168.0.57:3000) with Media Server (192.168.0.20:7026)
    20:00:22.218 StratInOut::eek:nConnected [CM104005] Call(7): Setup completed for call from Ln:10001@GrandStream to Ext.101
    20:00:22.218 CallLegImpl::eek:nConnected [CM103001] Call(7): Created audio channel for Ln:10001@GrandStream (192.168.0.21:5020) with Media Server (192.168.0.20:7024)
    20:00:19.031 CallConf::eek:nProvisional [CM103003] Call(7): Ext.101 is ringing
    20:00:18.812 CallConf::eek:nIncoming [CM103002] Call(7): Incoming call from 617548XXXX (Ln:10001@GrandStream) to sip:10000@192.168.0.20

    Is this configuration (Incoming calls on PSTN line -> distributed to PSTN or VOIP through ring group) similar to what anyone else is setting up???? or do all the lines have to be PSTN for incoming and use VOIP for outgoing only?

    Thanks for all help so far.
     
  5. cnguyen

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought this over after reading through other posts...

    The way I had it setup initially was correct... and the line forwarding for incoming calls through the main number should be handle by the carrier (veizon, for PSTN 1 and 2) and for VOIP Lines , I was able to enable call forward if busy, by logging onto the broadvoice account to enable it.

    So basically...

    Call comes in -> PSTN1 (if busy forward to) -> PSTN2 (if busy forward to) -> VOIP 1 (if busy forward to) VOIP 2 (if busy forward to) -> PSTN 1

    If some one could tell me if this is correct, that would be greatly appreciated!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.