incoming line identification

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by jon honeyball, Jul 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jon honeyball

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have grandstream 4104 and grandstream 2000 phones.

    I have set up the 4104 and 2000's according to the 3cx instructions.

    It appears that all four lines on the 4104 (I have four analogue phone lines) are treated as one virtual line. So when I make a call, I cant seem to choose which line I want to go out on. Also when I have an incoming call on, say, line 2, nothing on the 2000 indicates that this is actually line 2 -- indeed the phone says "Line 1" and the Line 1 button flashes on the phone.

    How do I get it so that my four lines appear as line 1 to line 4 on the 2000 phone (preferably with support for the line1 to 4 buttons)? And that I get control of each line seperately? (Each line has different functional use, hence the need)

    thanks

    jon
     
  2. justin

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well it depends...I'm unfamiliar with that phone so does it register as 4 different extensions or just one?

    If it only registers as one there's nothing that I know of doing as all my hardware uses individual extensions.
    If it registers as 4 different extensions, you can create an outbound rule that sets each extension to use a different outbound line therefor having individual control of the lines.
     
  3. jon honeyball

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi there -- thanks for thoughts

    the phone registers as one extension, I think, by default on the 3cx setup. it has 4 "accounts" in the tabs -- account 1, 2 3 4. each can be on a different set of logins to the 3cx, so i guess that might be 4 extensions? Yes, that looks right -- so I could set up 4 extension numbers for this phone if i set up 4 extensions in 3cx. however, extension 1 uses sip port 5060, extension 2 uses 5062 etc. hmmm

    im actually more interested in making the 4104 look like 4 seperate phone lines, rather than 4 in a round-robin logical single unit. Happy to dial a prefix number to choose outside line but was hoping to get the handsets line 1 to 4 buttons to be able to instruct 3cx and hence 4104 which line to use. That would be the easiest functionality, and would mirror what happens on a normal pabx.
     
  4. jon honeyball

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    To be clear: on the 4104 I have 4 analogue lines.

    Registered:
    Phone Number 1: Yes
    Phone Number 2: Yes
    Phone Number 3: Yes
    Phone Number 4: Yes

    FXO Line Connected:
    Line 1: No
    Line 2: Yes
    Line 3: No
    Line 4: No

    Curently only one line connected for test purposes

    call routing is set to {x+} (1 stage dialling)

    I have 4 channels set up numbered 1 to 4 -- each has own sip user id etc

    jon
     
  5. Anonymous

    Anonymous Guest

    In order to specify whcih line to use for outbound calls on the Grandstream, create an outbound rule which prepends 99X to the number.

    For example, to use line 3, 993XXXXXXX where XXXXXX is the number to dial.

    Thanks,
     
  6. jon honeyball

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, dont understand. I cant put "99X" into the prepend -- it wont accept that.
     
  7. Anonymous

    Anonymous Guest

    If you wanted to redirect calls to the frist line, prepend 991, second line 992 etc...

    Thanks,
     
  8. jon honeyball

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks

    got it all working now -- bought the software and the support package from zensoftware, and Emmet there has been very helpful

    junked the grandstream 4104 for the moment, replaced with a patton 4 line analogue thingy.
     
  9. kevin

    kevin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi Jon

    Excellent news!

    Regards

    Kevin
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.