incomming call dialing to external ext. via 3cx bridge fails

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by patrickrivard, Nov 16, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. patrickrivard

    patrickrivard New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    We have two 3CX PBX installed at two locations and have created a bridge between the two.
    Both Location have 4 digit ext.
    We have created an Outbound Rules on both PBX; calls with numbers starting with (prefix) 2, Calls with a number of a length of 4, Use Route 1 "Bridge", strip 0 digit.
    For internal calls, from either location it works perfectly.
    The problem is that when an external call comes in at one location and the caller dials an extension that is at the other location the call fails... The message the PBX gives is: "Destination is not available, not registered or there are no routes available".
    any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks
     
  2. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,878
    Likes Received:
    307
    Re: incomming call dialing to external ext. via 3cx bridge f

    Because it is an external caller dialling a number that does not reside on the local PBX, I suspect it is regarded as if the caller is trying to dial an outside number and is therefore being blocked.

    If there were a limited number extensions, on the other PBX, that callers would dial directly, then you could create them on the local PBX, then forward the call to the other PBX. Local caller dials 2011, goes to local extension 2011 which is forwarded to 52011. Outbound rule strips the 5, then sends 2011 over bridge. Of course, that could become cumbersome.

    There may be another explanation, that's the first thing that popped into my head.
     
  3. SY

    SY Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    2
    Re: incomming call dialing to external ext. via 3cx bridge f

    Hi Patrick,

    Since v10 SP3 DR doesn't allow to dial the "non-local" numbers

    Quick solution for the issue:
    Prerequisite: v10 SP4.

    Run management console and open page
    Settings->Advanced: "Custom parameters"
    then type in "Filter by Parameter Name":
    IVRNOCHECKFORDN
    If you see empty list then add this parameter and set it to 1.
    ----------
    There is empty line marked with *
    type
    IVRNOCHECKFORDN
    in the column 'Name' and
    1
    in the column 'Value'

    Press Apply or OK at the bottom of the page.

    ------------
    To check correctness of change:
    Call the DR and dial an extension number located on other PBX (through the bridge)
    You should hear "Please wait while I transfer your call" instead of "Destination is not available..."
    If you hear it then everything is done correctly.

    It is rollback to the behavior of the IVR prior to v10 SP3.
    Please confirm that this "quick solution" works. I will add further information about the control over "direct dialing" from the DR in case if "IVRNOCHECKFORDN" is set to 1.

    Thanks
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. patrickrivard

    patrickrivard New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: incomming call dialing to external ext. via 3cx bridge f

    It did the Trick!!!
    Thank you very much for your prompt reply!

    Quick question; would it be possible to be able to see the status of the extensions residing on the other PBX linked via the bridge? I guess not but it does not hurt to ask...

    Once again thank you
     
  5. SY

    SY Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    2
    Re: incomming call dialing to external ext. via 3cx bridge f

    No, it is not possible (at least at this moment).
    If you have suggestions or ideas regarding this functionality, please pay a visit to ideas.3cx.com.

    Thanks
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.