Initiating call from Outlook 2010 contact failing

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by sunstate, May 4, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sunstate

    sunstate Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    v10, RC. MyPhone installed locally, desktop components installed, and Outlook plugin installed. When I right click on a contact in Outlook I get the Call With 3CX option. When I click it, the softphone (v6) pops up and shows the call being made, but almost right away the provider comes back with "the number you are calling is not in service". When I check the 3CX server log it looks like the number it is trying to call is wrong. It is prepending %20 to the number.

    Making route(s) to <sip:(480)%20353-XXXX@127.0.0.1:5060>

    Below is the Outlook contact and the server log. This exact same contact worked fine with v9. This started yesterday when we upgraded to v10 RC.

    Code:
    13:20:14.588  [CM503008]: Call(16): Call is terminated
    13:20:10.527  [CM503007]: Call(16): Device joined: sip:469791XXXX@voip.airband.net:5060
    13:20:10.469  [CM505003]: Provider:[Airband] Device info: Device Not Identified: User Agent not matched; Capabilities:[reinvite, replaces, able-no-sdp, recvonly] UserAgent: [] PBX contact: [sip:469791XXXX@216.27.221.29:5060]
    13:20:10.468  [CM503002]: Call(16): Alerting sip:469791XXXX@voip.airband.net:5060
    13:20:10.344  [CM503025]: Call(16): Calling VoIPline:(480) 353-XXXX@(Ln.10000@Airband)@[Dev:sip:4697910280@voip.airband.net:5060]
    13:20:10.198  [CM503004]: Call(16): Route 1: VoIPline:(480) 353-XXXX@(Ln.10000@Airband)@[Dev:sip:4697910280@voip.airband.net:5060]
    13:20:10.195  [CM503010]: Making route(s) to <sip:(480)%20353-XXXX@127.0.0.1:5060>
    13:20:09.161  [CM505001]: Ext.247: Device info: Device Not Identified: User Agent not matched; Capabilities:[reinvite, replaces, able-no-sdp, recvonly] UserAgent: [3CXPhone 6.0.18815.0] PBX contact: [sip:247@10.1.1.230:5060]
    13:20:09.160  [CM503002]: Call(17): Alerting sip:247@10.1.1.50:51221;rinstance=bc01a6c0aee6d9f6
    13:20:09.140  [CM503007]: Call(16): Device joined: sip:247@10.1.1.50:51221;rinstance=bc01a6c0aee6d9f6
    13:20:09.139  [CM503007]: Call(16): Device joined: sip:MakeCall@127.0.0.1:40600;rinstance=51516f1aaf81bb4d
    13:20:09.121  [CM505001]: Ext.247: Device info: Device Not Identified: User Agent not matched; Capabilities:[reinvite, replaces, able-no-sdp, recvonly] UserAgent: [3CXPhone 6.0.18815.0] PBX contact: [sip:247@10.1.1.230:5060]
    13:20:09.120  [CM503002]: Call(16): Alerting sip:247@10.1.1.50:51221;rinstance=bc01a6c0aee6d9f6
    13:20:08.975  [CM503025]: Call(17): Calling Ext:Int.247@[Dev:sip:247@10.1.1.50:51221;rinstance=bc01a6c0aee6d9f6]
    13:20:08.960  [CM503025]: Call(16): Calling Ext:Int.247@[Dev:sip:247@10.1.1.50:51221;rinstance=bc01a6c0aee6d9f6]
    13:20:08.928  [CM503004]: Call(17): Route 1: Ext:Int.247@[Dev:sip:247@10.1.1.50:51221;rinstance=bc01a6c0aee6d9f6]
    13:20:08.926  [CM503010]: Making route(s) to <sip:*9247@127.0.0.1:5060;nofwd=1>
    13:20:08.925  [CM503004]: Call(16): Route 1: Ext:Int.247@[Dev:sip:247@10.1.1.50:51221;rinstance=bc01a6c0aee6d9f6]
    13:20:08.923  [CM503010]: Making route(s) to <sip:*9247@127.0.0.1:5060;nofwd=1>
    13:20:08.919  [CM505001]: Ext.MakeCall: Device info: Device Identified: [Man: 3CX Ltd.;Mod: 3CX MakeCall helper;Rev: General] Capabilities:[reinvite, replaces, able-no-sdp, recvonly] UserAgent: [3CX MakeCall helper] PBX contact: [sip:MakeCall@127.0.0.1:5060]
    13:20:08.918  [CM503001]: Call(17): Incoming call from Ext.MakeCall to <sip:*9247@127.0.0.1:5060;nofwd=1>
    13:20:08.905  [CM505001]: Ext.MakeCall: Device info: Device Identified: [Man: 3CX Ltd.;Mod: 3CX MakeCall helper;Rev: General] Capabilities:[reinvite, replaces, able-no-sdp, recvonly] UserAgent: [3CX MakeCall helper] PBX contact: [sip:MakeCall@127.0.0.1:5060]
    13:20:08.904  [CM503001]: Call(16): Incoming call from Ext.MakeCall to <sip:*9247@127.0.0.1:5060;nofwd=1>
    
    [​IMG]
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. StefanW

    StefanW Head of Customer Support and Training
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,199
    Likes Received:
    79
    1. As I can see, ur Numbers are not stored in Outlook as Outlook likes them. They should start all with an +.
    Use the assistant of Outlook to fill in the data correctly

    2. Dont use the "Call via 3CX PBX" Add In, go normaly to the Call function of Outlook, this will interact with MS Telephony and edit the nummer before you call it automatically. You can add prefixs and so on. If the number is set as in 1 it will work like a charme.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. sunstate

    sunstate Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    The numnber is formatted automatically by Outlook. If you try typing it in any other way it will automatically change it. And on top of that, this exact same contact worked fine with V9. This is the exact same machine, exact same Outlook install, and exact same contact. The only thing that changed was V10 of the phone system and the new V6 softphone.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. StefanW

    StefanW Head of Customer Support and Training
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,199
    Likes Received:
    79
    I have never seen that outlook start an contact with () its always starts with an +1.
    Anyway. Do not not use the button call via PBX. use Outlook Call Function.
    Then You can Validate as well what outlook is going to dial.

    This is in german written but the screenshots are clear to understand and check
    https://www.3cx.de/blog/wahlen-aus-outlook/
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #4 StefanW, May 6, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 20, 2017
  5. MrKoen

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm facing a similar problem as described in this topic. I have explained the problem in this topic:

    https://www.3cx.com/community/threads/3cx-myphone-regarding-outgoing-calls-from-outlook-bug.20217/

    If I use the default Outlook call to function, I'm shown a popup:



    When I press Start Call, the same problem occurs: the space is translated to %20 and the call fails. When I try to edit the number in the Number field and try to click Start Call, I'm confronted with the following error notice:



    I went through the Dialing Properties as described in the German posting, but I could not find a way to remove the space between the country code and the phone number.

    Besides trying to find a workaround to this problem, I think it is safe to assume it is a bug in the 3CX software and it needs to be fixed in a next version.
     

    Attached Files:

    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #5 MrKoen, May 13, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 20, 2017
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.