Installation Fails ** REASON UPGRADE XP to VISTA ON THE FLY

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by Taffman, Apr 14, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Taffman

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having problems installing 3CX version 9 on my Windows Vista PC. The installer runs ok and after defining the location for the installation I get an error saying "The 3CX Phone System Setup Wizard ended prematurely because of an error" However there is no clue as to what this error is. Has anyone else come across this or have any ideas on how I can get the 3CX Install Wizard to complete an install. I have tried running the Install Wizard from the Administrator account so that isn't the problem.
     
  2. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,594
    Likes Received:
    255
    Re: Installation Failure

    What version of Vista are you running? That might help someone answer your question.
     
  3. Taffman

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Installation Failure

    Vista Business Edition (Pro) 32 bit.
     
  4. mfm

    mfm Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    2
    Re: Installation Failure

    Hi There,

    The event log would potentially give you more details however commone thing to try are:

    Update your windows system.
    Ensure no virus scanners are running
    Ensure you have .net 3.5 installed.

    Re run the wizard by gongn to program files/3cx/bin/ 3cxwizard.exe right click run as administrator.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Taffman

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Installation Failure

    Many thanks for your advise, I disabled Kasperski and re ran the install as admin, but no luck the install still failed.
    There is no event log to view as the install directory was never created by the wizard likewise I cant run /3cx/bin/ 3cxwizard.exe because this directory and file does not exist.

    As FYI, this PC I'm using was originally installed with Windows XP, and I had a working instance of 3CX on XP, I later de installed it for reasons I wont go into here and later on upgraded the OS to Vista. Maybe there's some residual registry entry that's causing this, but I've looked and cant find anything obvious.
     
  6. smb1

    smb1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Installation Failure

    Perhaps try disabling UAC and try to install. I've not installed 3CX on Vista so I can't say definitively if this will help, but it is a standard step to try when struggling to get software to install.

    If you upgraded in-place from XP to Vista, I would next recommend a wipe of the hard drive and perform a clean install of Vista.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. nb

    nb Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    146
    Re: Installation Failure

    wipe out vista - Vista on its own already sucks. Let alone upgrading from xp to vista.

    Actually - move to another os in the first place. If you do not want, format machine, install vista and give it full service packs. Then it will work.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.